Please wait...action in progress.

holiday return policy:

Purchases made through Toshiba Direct from November 28, 2014 through December 24, 2014 are eligible for return or exchange through January 15, 2015. Products, including laptops, netbooks, tablets, desktops, TV lamps, and accessories (batteries, remotes, Power adapters, etc), except those products specifically named as 'final sale' on the www.toshiba.com/us website, are eligible for refund or replacement. TAIS will not issue an RMA for a visual product to be returned for credit. All products eligible for return require a Return Material Authorization (RMA) number, which may be requested by calling 1-800-618-4444. To be considered for the holiday return period, an RMA request must be made no later than January 15, 2015 and all products qualified for return must be returned to TAIS within ten (10) days of customer receipt of the RMA number. The maximum TAIS will refund for items purchased through TAIS is the original purchase price of the product, less restocking fee, plus any related taxes. Original shipping and handling charges or similar fees and return shipping charges are not refundable. Returns made without an RMA number will be refused or returned to the Customer. All products with valid RMA authorization must be returned in original packaging and be in the same condition as Customer received them. Customer is responsible for shipping charges and risk of loss on all return shipments. Customer must use a reputable shipping carrier capable of providing proof of delivery, as well as properly packing and fully insuring the return shipment. Upon receipt of the returned product(s), TAIS will inspect the product to determine if the product has been opened, used, and whether it contains all parts included with the original shipment, and to confirm there was no modification, abuse or misuse of the product, or user negligence. TAIS may reject the return or deduct costs associated with: open packaging, missing parts, non original packaging, modification, abuse, misuse of the product or user negligence. While TAIS may issue an RMA for individual software packages represented by Customer as unopened, upon receipt and inspection any open packages will not be accepted for return/credit and will be returned to Customer.
Toshiba Primary High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Laptop Battery
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba Primary High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Laptop Battery

Part Number: PA3819U-1BRS
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 27 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$149.99
Instant Savings:
-$22.51

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $127.48
Offer expires 1/5/15
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 12/18/2014.
Learn More
Toshiba Primary High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Laptop Battery Toshiba Primary High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Laptop Battery
Rated 3.5667/5 based on 27 customer reviews
$127.48 In stock
Product description: The Toshiba Primary High Capacity Battery Pack is a 12-cell, rechargeable, Lithium Ion battery designed to work with various Toshiba series portable computers. Used as either a spare or replacement battery, the high capacity battery pack has twice the number of cells (12 vs. 6) compared to the original battery that came with your notebook, giving you extended battery life for more computing time, watch more movies, play more games or listen to more music. The battery pack attaches to the bottom of the notebook raising the back end by one inch, giving you a comfortable angled typing surface.
 
Toshiba Direct | Laptops, Notebooks, Accessories, Electronics & Projectors

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent UpgradeNovember 26, 2010
by Jerry from Indianapolis IN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Twelve Cell Battery for my new laptop. Tremendous improvement over original battery, plus it acts as a nice slightly elevated stand and keeps the PC cooler. The battery lasts from 5 to 12 hours depending on what you are watching or doing. The original 6 cell only lasted 2 3/4 hours. To maintain maximum charge you should run it low once per week. I am very satisfied so far.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Nice improvementDecember 6, 2010
by johnny d from nyc
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Much better Battery life than stock Battery..does add some bulk and weight..but worth it
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good batery life when used rightDecember 10, 2010
by joe from Tucson, az
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I can take my M645 laptop to school with this battery and not worry about running out of power, most of the time i can run on high performance settings and make it through the day.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
April 6, 2011
by bluecrew from Amarillo,tx
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I just got this battery, I really wasn't happy with the one that came with the laptop, and I get anywhere from 6-10 hours out of it. It just depends on what I am doing with it. But I am super happy with this product, I read all of the reviews that are posted and that had helped me when I was deciding to buy this; I am glad I did. I use it for school and it gets me through all day. :)
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Li IOn tipsApril 16, 2011
by Lean Machine from Phoenix
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Li-ion batteries are not meant to be run down; they do not have memory like ni-cad. For travel>turn down screen brighteness;tune the graphics card to minimum; eliminate bloatware;clean the insides monthly; elevate the laptop on a stand when using. Most applications are power hungry. Take the battery out unless needed; constant charging will kill the battery faster. I like my Toshiba L655.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Don't run down your Li Ion batteryFebruary 12, 2011
by Premek from Chicago, IL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Lithium Ion Batteries are not meant to be run down all the way like the old NiCad ones. You can do damage to your battery by letting it run down all the way. Look it up if you don't believe me, don't listen to people telling you to run your Li Ion battery down all the way!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Awesome battery lifeDecember 12, 2010
by Greg B from Seattle, WA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Got the battery and did the standard break-in of running it down until it could no longer power my laptop, then recharged it overnight. This is something you need to do before your first use of any rechargeable battery and it's advisable as periodic maintenance step. After the break-in, it spent almost 6 hours on a Sunday afternoon playing music for my family (via an external speaker plugged into the headphone jack) as well as some basic web surfing, and when I shut it down, it still had 50% charge. I'm impressed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Even better batteryMay 8, 2011
by Dennis from Milwaukee, WI.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted longer usage time and I got it. This is nearly twice as long as the standard battery.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent Battery!!July 17, 2011
by Breakerman from Bremerton, Wa
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I get over 6 hours of use with this battery, and I must say that is quit the improvement over the stock battery that came with my laptop. This battery has enabled me to watch movies and listen to music while on a 10 and 1/2 hour flight to Japan. While I didn't use it the whole time, I still had about 40% of the battery left when I arrived. All batteries need to be "Deep Cycled" on occasion. That means you run them down all the way and then recharge them to full capacity I would recommend this battery to any one!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Tremendous ImprovementFebruary 7, 2014
by Paul from Pearl River, New York
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
After two years of constantly plugging in due to a very weak original battery, I am now very happy to have the battery power that I originally expected when I purchased my laptop. I work sporadically all day with one charge, and don't have to carry the power cord around anymore. Thank you Toshiba for correcting the problem and putting out a good battery.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent BatteryNovember 14, 2012
by Trey from Clayton, NC
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This battery is excellent if you are going on a trip or are going to be away from the plug for more that 3 or 4 hours. I have gotten up to 10 hours before having to charge it up again. LOVE IT!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
battery life of 12 cell li-ionAugust 7, 2012
by tomterrific43 from penna. usa
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
please type the proper way to get full life of battery according to manufactures recomendation... recharge when drained down or recharge at end of daily use. which is the best way as i read both ways in these reviews
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Don't settle for lessAugust 1, 2012
by Teenager tested from Nashua, NH
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This battery has lasted 10 months before telling me to change it. Use it 16 hours or more a day. Does get charged when it says its at 10%. Video streaming, Internet use, Texting, Facebook. All typical high demands for a teenager. This battery did come with the computer. If you have the lessor model, use it as a backup. There does come the time when you do finally need a NEW battery. Do the simple checks of other possible battery problems first and then just get a new one.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Just ordered my 2nd oneOctober 1, 2011
by KayakBill from near Nashville, TN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Work 10-hours as a machinist, take this L655-S5156 to work to play music thru my Bose radio, this battery lets my JAM all nite at work and still ahs a couple of hours charge on it after I get home. Great battery!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
good battery !!December 4, 2010
by mikey d from lafayette n.j.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
the original battery that my l655d-s5116 came with is awful! i get about 1 1/2 to 2 hours at most so i needed to give this high capacity a try . its well worth it if ur lookin for longer battery life. i got approx. 5 hours out of it with moderate use .takes alot longer to charge than the original but i guess thats expected,but over all its a good upgrade.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
great laptopMay 18, 2012
by pam from Nashua, NH
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I love this laptop! This is the first of many. Got some time to get used to after using a dinosaur desktop. What a difference! Will always to go this way and give my desktop a proper burial!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
BatteryFebruary 3, 2011
by MTNDEW from Miami, Florida
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
It's an ok battery, not as long as I expected which was 7 hours. It's about 5 hours currently, but I'm still breaking in the battery, in the first step atm.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Makes Laptop HeavyApril 9, 2011
by Danni from Saint Charles, MO
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This battery makes the M640 quite heavy to carry around. I haven't used this new laptop much because of it. Am going to buy the extended capacity lithium 6 cell 61 wh to use and will keep this 12 cell as a spare when on trips. I keep going back to my Toshiba U305. Also have netbook NB305. Great products.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Happy UserMay 25, 2012
by Charlie from Pawling, New York
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This is the first laptop that I have ever owned or used. I like my tower better but I am very happy with this product. I am unsure whether or not to get the 12 cell Li-ion battery. It seems that either it works fine or it fails but even the users who like it are not that enthusiastic about it. I think that I'll wait a while as the battery that came with this unit seems to be performing acceptably.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Battery lasts less than 4h!October 24, 2010
by ComputerScientist from Columbus, OH
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
One of the main factors that made me choose this model was the 12-cell Li-Ion battery that is supposed to enable up to 10.5 h unplugged work. Even considering that this varies with power options, cpu demand and etc.. in my trial period (using basically internet only) it did not reach 4h!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Disappointment !!January 1, 2012
by pearce369 from Florida
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I purchased my A660 and as others paid to upgrade to extended battery. I have been using Li-Ion batteries in my R/C aircraft and helicopters since their introduction and have been totally satisfied with life and performance. Li-Ion batteries are not suppose to develop memory but this battery went from over 6 hours useful life to no more than an hour within 6 months of purchase. Battery life started to decrease from the very beginning. Having the previous experience with Li-Ion I made sure to always run it down to less than 10% life before charging as recommended and it had made no difference, life started to decrease from the beginning. I have owned several Toshiba laptops over the years and this battery did not impress me enough to purchase a new one to replace it. I do not think the extra cost, weight and size is worth it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dead Lithion Ion Battery From The BoxJuly 28, 2011
by Anthony Staten Island from Staten Island New York
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Hi i bought this laptop and the Battery does not hold a charge from day one dead (morto) not one ounce of batterylife need to keep it plugged in to work is it defective ? who do you go crying to now !! can anyone help
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
In need of a 3rd battery in 3 yearsSeptember 17, 2014
by dmsalt13 from NH
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I am now in need of my third battery in as many years. First one would not longer keep a charge, would die within 15-30 min on the battery and the second one short-circuited or something. Kept getting really hot and shutting my computer down on both battery power and plugged in. I've always paid the extra and bought directly from Toshiba, but what a waste it's been. And of course, both batteries died right outside any one-year warrenties they might have had. For the 3rd battery, I will be buying from a third party seller.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bad luck or bad productDecember 10, 2012
by techbitar
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have used this battery for over a year and suddenly it stopped charging with an error message "plugged in, not charging." I followed the advice listed on various support forums including Toshiba's but no luck. I never had such a sudden malfunction of batteries before. The replacement cost is too hefty. So now I have a useless laptop, if portability is the primary definition of a laptop. I have been a satisfied owner of 4 Toshiba laptops over the years. This episode is a disappointment. Maybe it's a manufacturer's defect or maybe it's just my bad luck.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst battery everJune 29, 2011
by unhappy from Fairport, NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Never got the battery life advertized. Used laptop sparingly less than a year and now it will not even take a charge. Never had problems with HP and Dell computers I used at work.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Example: Worst Battery Ever!March 7, 2011
by Titian-9 from New York
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
This battery was advertised to last for 7+ hours and was one of the primary reasons for purchasing the laptop. It was a graduation present for my son who, I just found out, never got more than 2 hours out of the thing and after a year it now only lasts for 5 minutes. i read several suggestions to 'run the battery down' at least once a week for optimal performance. How about running it down every time the laptop is used without an AC adapter?!! Reading other reviews it seem that there is a high rate of failure / low capacity reports on this particular battery. Some get lucky and have good things to say but they are far fewer than those who report problems.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Battery flopJanuary 2, 2011
by Rick from Rideo, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Maybe I got the lemon battery.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba Primary High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Laptop Battery
Averages based on 30 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.6 out of 5
Features: 2.5 out of 5
Performance: 2.5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2.0 out of 5
21 of 30 (70%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba Primary High Capacity 12-Cell Li-Ion Laptop Battery - Write a Review Close  Close