Please wait...action in progress.

holiday return policy:

Purchases made through Toshiba Direct from November 28, 2014 through December 24, 2014 are eligible for return or exchange through January 15, 2015. Products, including laptops, netbooks, tablets, desktops, TV lamps, and accessories (batteries, remotes, Power adapters, etc), except those products specifically named as 'final sale' on the www.toshiba.com/us website, are eligible for refund or replacement. TAIS will not issue an RMA for a visual product to be returned for credit. All products eligible for return require a Return Material Authorization (RMA) number, which may be requested by calling 1-800-618-4444. To be considered for the holiday return period, an RMA request must be made no later than January 15, 2015 and all products qualified for return must be returned to TAIS within ten (10) days of customer receipt of the RMA number. The maximum TAIS will refund for items purchased through TAIS is the original purchase price of the product, less restocking fee, plus any related taxes. Original shipping and handling charges or similar fees and return shipping charges are not refundable. Returns made without an RMA number will be refused or returned to the Customer. All products with valid RMA authorization must be returned in original packaging and be in the same condition as Customer received them. Customer is responsible for shipping charges and risk of loss on all return shipments. Customer must use a reputable shipping carrier capable of providing proof of delivery, as well as properly packing and fully insuring the return shipment. Upon receipt of the returned product(s), TAIS will inspect the product to determine if the product has been opened, used, and whether it contains all parts included with the original shipment, and to confirm there was no modification, abuse or misuse of the product, or user negligence. TAIS may reject the return or deduct costs associated with: open packaging, missing parts, non original packaging, modification, abuse, misuse of the product or user negligence. While TAIS may issue an RMA for individual software packages represented by Customer as unopened, upon receipt and inspection any open packages will not be accepted for return/credit and will be returned to Customer.
500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black)
Images
IMAGES
 »

500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black)

Part Number: HDTB205XK3AA
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 7 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$79.99
Instant Savings:
-$25.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Toshiba Recommends:
Toshiba Portable Hard Drive Carrying Case ($17.99 value)
Save 50% for a limited time!
+$8.99
Total Price: $54.99
Offer expires 1/5/15
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 12/01/2014.
Learn More
500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black) 500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black)
Rated 2.4286/5 based on 7 customer reviews
$54.99 In stock
Product description: 500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black)
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Best External Hard Disk!January 21, 2014
by jERry from Philippines
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
i have it and its so good!! a must have for a student like me,
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
never hadNovember 7, 2014
by Bob souther ca. from Oceanside,Ca.92054
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have a Mac OS and have had several updates. I have always used My Toshiba as a back up drive and have stored /used it as a statrt up drive and back up dayly stuff.Never had problems. I always used aprogram to clean it /optimize it etc. and NEVEr had problems. Looking to get another.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Real IssuesMarch 7, 2014
by mlhco from Vancouver, WA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The Canvino Basic 3.0 lost the data formatting after hot unplug of the USB connection even though I had set the feature for hot unplug. Lost a lot of work and time. I won't trust it anymore. I was able to recover the asset, but not the data and that is infuriating.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
UnreliableApril 23, 2014
by UnSatisfied
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
1 Star means POOR which is the Lowest Ranking available. Zero Stars is more appropriate when a product fails to even work. This product is Zero Stars. I had this external HDD for 30 days for backing up my laptop. Now no matter what I plug the HDD into, Windows does not recognize it. I never move the HDD. I leave it behind when I need to travel with my laptop. My only guess is this thing does not like to be unplugged when powered up ???? It is not not reliable for routine laptop backups.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Unreliable - Broke after 1 yearJune 26, 2014
by Disappointed from Lakeville, MN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Have had for a little over 1 year and it is now dead. Used it for movies and it sat on top of my dvd. Never transported, dropped or anything. All it does is click and the computer does not recognize it. Very poor. Not what I expected and no replacement. Avoid.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Doesnt work with Windows 8.1September 29, 2014
by Michaelpk3
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Its dead after 2 yearsOctober 4, 2014
by Rao from Mumbai
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I was trying to format its not completing . i am getting I/O error. I lost all my memorable data .
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black)
Averages based on 7 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 2.4 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
2 of 7 (28%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

500GB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive (Black) - Write a Review Close  Close