Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Connect Portable Hard Drive - Black
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Connect Portable Hard Drive - Black

Part Number: HDTC720XK3C1
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 15 reviews  /  Write a review

 
Choose Color:
WHITE BLACK RED HDD BLUE
Current Selection: BLACK
List Price:
$139.99
Instant Savings:
-$20.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Toshiba Recommends:
Toshiba Portable Hard Drive Carrying Case ($17.99 value)
Save 30% for a limited time!
+$12.59
Total Price: $119.99
Offer expires 8/3/15
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 08/03/2015.
Learn More
Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Connect Portable Hard Drive - Black Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Connect Portable Hard Drive - Black
Rated 1.8333/5 based on 15 customer reviews
$119.99 In stock
Product description: Toshiba Canvio Connect makes it easy to backup and share your digital content wherever you are. Simply connect the Canvio Connect to your computer to Store and Backup your content, Access your files anywhere and Share your content and files
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
External Prortable DriveMarch 13, 2014
by Mario from East Orange, NJ
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have no issues to report on this drive. I own several different brands of external drives, NAS enclosures, and USB encrypted drives. The Toshiba drives at this price point are the ones to purchase. I use for schools documents, PPT presentation, music, etc.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
February 6, 2015
by Anonymous
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
January 30, 2014
by ki
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
It works with win.8 on my computer. I have it for 20days no problem. Only if it was 7200rmp I will give it five stars.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Great drive except not password protected.February 18, 2014
by Nasty1n215 from Philadelphia,Pa
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This drive has lots of good feature and some great included software. The big drawback is it has no password protection. If you lose your drive you information is compromised. I travel a lot internationally and have had other drives confiscated going through security checkpoints abroad but they never defeated the standard password protections that come standard with my WD drives. 15-30 minutes later I have my drive back with my information intact and I'm on my way.Toshiba has to do better.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
How do I share files?September 21, 2014
by Jose from Sterling, VA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I saw a lot of advertising about using it to share files and remotely access my files. This may be true, but I am not interested in your cloud service, I want to allow several locations to access R/W data, especially spreadsheets containing proprietary data. I can find no instructions or software that came with the HD to be able to do this except to use your "cloud" which I have no interest in doing.. The advertising also indicated I could limit sharing to specific files and specific users. Again, it may be possible, but I can't find the instructions to do so. Quite likely I will call tech support. But why do I have to for basic user info?
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
useless piece of junkJanuary 20, 2014
by dissatisfied user from georgia
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
On the box it claims to be compatible with all modern OSes. While my Win8.1 laptop can mount the hd my new imac can not. I can be sure that all the usb ports i've tested it on function because everything else i plug into them functions correctly. even after reformatting the external hd it still does not mount. after googling the performance of toshiba external hd s i feel like a dummy for even wasting my time. thanks for nothing toshiba. will be returning the product to retailer and will not be purchasing another of your products ever again.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Waste of moneyMarch 5, 2015
by Electron from Romania
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Hdd usually randomly disconnect from laptop and after few seconds self reconnect. Impossible to view a movie from it. File transfer is a nightmare you must restart many times to finish job. All this happens only on Vista and late never on Windows XP. So if you have obsolete computer is good for you.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
THE WORST EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE EVERApril 17, 2015
by frenchie from mobile, al
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This hard drive has never worked. NEVER BUY
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
June 19, 2015
by Anonymous
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't buyJuly 20, 2015
by Fritz from Illinois
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Will not work with Windows back up. Now it wants to format every time I plug it in, but it won't actually format.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Drivers for Mac do not workMay 2, 2015
by John from TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Your NTFS driver will not work on the mac. others have complained, Toshiba advertises for the mac, but no solution from Toshiba.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst External Hard Drive Ever!April 2, 2015
by ratonildo from Washington, OK
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This is a nightmare. I purchased this hard drive so I can transfer all my important files for safety reasons (Tax information, business documents, board meeting minutes, accounts, investment tracking information, pictures, etc). 1st. It didn’t let me transfer all the information at once. It kept kicking the transfer off so I had to do a section at a time. 2nd. Some of my files, specially videos, were really slow. 3rd. Within 4 months it crashed. Lost all my documents. Now I’m still on the limbo on how I’m going to retrieve this information for my investors. Of course I have most of the other files but the last 4 months are lost. My advice…. run away from this product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
bad productNovember 24, 2014
by frank from ca
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bad product, lost its format information as soon as I tried to use it once, tried to use it for a backup but it froze up and lost all info..
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
dissapointmentApril 20, 2014
by killer prince from junction city ks
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
after been using the 1tb external HD from Toshiba and having no problems, i decided to get a 2 tb hd to backup my backup if you know what I mean, so.... i dumped all my data from my 1 tb to my 2 tb, hd and proceeded to stash my 2 tb hd in a safe place, ... now after 4 months i wanted a to recall a file and o well, it aint even turning on, i try everything... all my data is gone.. years of memories and irreplaceable files gone to trash thanks to poor quality control.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Crashed after 5 monthsMay 2, 2014
by bassman25 from Tafton, PA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Worked for 5 months then one day just said that it had corrupted...
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
i don,t like itMay 21, 2014
by ridgerob from PA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
i have had this drive less then a month and it will no longer work on any windows computer only on mac. so i don,t like it
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bad hard drive toSeptember 11, 2014
by Dominique Gatan from Canada
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This is the worst product of toshiba. I never imagined it to be so. Slow and obsolete.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Connect Portable Hard Drive - Black
Averages based on 18 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 1.8 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
3 of 18 (16%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Connect Portable Hard Drive - Black - Write a Review Close  Close