Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba 5TB  Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black)
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba 5TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black)

Part Number: HDWC250XK3J1
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 6 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$249.00
Instant Savings:
-$99.01

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $149.99
Offer expires 9/7/15
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 08/31/2015.
Learn More
Toshiba 5TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black) Toshiba 5TB  Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black)
Rated 1.6667/5 based on 6 customer reviews
$149.99 In stock
Product description: Toshiba 5TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black)
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Some quirksMay 20, 2015
by someone from Sofia, Bulgaria
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The disk comes formatted as GPT instead of MBR, which means it is not recognized on Windows XP 32-bit or on some devices like routers or TVs, etc. Works fine on XP 64-bit and anything Vista or newer. I think GPT is a bad choice considering the disk supports 4KB physical sectors and as such can use MBR without any problem. But the worst part is it is not mentioned anywhere in the product description nor is it easily found on the net and took me a while to figure out. Initially I thought the disk was defective - it showed up properly in Device Manager but clicking 'Populate' button on the Volumes tab of its properties showed type 'Unknown', and it did not show in Disk Management. Other than that issue, I am so far happy with it. I've seen people complain that it is too noisy but I don't find that to be the case. Futhermore, it powers down when not in use for a while and becomes absolutely silent. Yes, this means a couple of seconds of a delay when you want to resume using it, but I think that's better than to keep spinning needlessly. USB 3.0 write speeds of above 150MB/s are nice to see. I wish there were more details about the drive inside it given in the product description, and particularly if it uses shingled magnetic recording, and if it's really a Toshiba drive or a Hitachi or even WD now that they bought them.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Died after 7 monthsFebruary 4, 2015
by External HD fan from East Lyme, CT
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The drive died after ~ 7 months. It is very and very typical for external hard drives to die after few months to a couple of years. I have been using and updating simultaneously two external hard drives of different manufacturers in past 10 years, to backup the data.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Died after 2 monthsJune 26, 2014
by Joshua from Michigan
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This external hard drive died after 2 months and the one before that died after 3 months. I hope the next replacement doesn't have the same lifespan.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
hard drive died in a monthAugust 18, 2014
by suja
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
hard drive died after a month.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dirtnap after 4 monthsMay 14, 2015
by Tyrade
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I've had real estate closings that lasted longer than this harddrive. RUN in the other direction.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Another bad driveNovember 26, 2014
by Lawman
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have now had two canvio drives and my latest was this 5TB. My first (3TB) was DOA and this one died after 5 months. Just lost power, hardly used. While it was working it was good but unacceptable to have these keep going bad.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba 5TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black)
Averages based on 6 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 1.7 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
1 of 6 (16%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba 5TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black) - Write a Review Close  Close

Ultrabook, Celeron, Celeron Inside, Core Inside, Intel, Intel Logo, Intel Atom, Intel Atom Inside, Intel Core, Intel Inside,
Intel Inside Logo, Intel vPro, Pentium, Pentium Inside, vPro Inside, are trademarks of Intel Corporation in the U.S. and/or other countries.