Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba recommends Windows® 7.

  • full performance
  • incredible battery life rating
  • thin, light, and durable design
starts at $[finalPrice]

Customer Reviews for R700

I love my new Laptop December 02, 2010

POSTED BY: Ali, London
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"I brought this laptop in New York and it is amazingly light and portable. I love it, it is great for travelling. The laptop is powerful and has so much in such a small and thin laptop."

Great value February 08, 2011

POSTED BY: sjw02001, Kansas City
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"Overall the laptop is great - light and powerful. Battery life is good, laptop is fast, perfect for taking to class without throwing out my back. My textbooks are heavier! A/C adapter is light too. Includes an optical drive, which many thin and lights do not. 3 USB ports, both HDMI and VGA out, eSata and USB charging while off, and RAM is expandable. Stylish case. A few minor complaints - TONS of extra software. The power connector is slightly loose. The spacebar occasionally squeaks. No USB 3.0 or dedicated graphics. Very pleased with the purchase."

Best Travel Laptop February 14, 2011

POSTED BY: cadman, Montverde, FL
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"I did a lot of research and the Portege came to the top of value and features. It is performing flawlessly and the only complaint I might have is the speakers and video camera are not very good but these are not something I need anyway. I love traveling with a small laptop."

Light but powerful February 27, 2011

POSTED BY: Khoalety, Ann Arbor, MI
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"I was looking for something light. I almost went with an iPAD but iPAD was too slow for what I want to do even sitting in the living room. My 12" HP laptop for work is about 5 lbs. When I came across this 13.5" Portege about 3 lbs with i5 CPU and send my soccer games at ESPN3 to a TV; I knew this is the computer for me. The only thing I'm not very thrill about is the keyboard. Please keep on producing light laptops like this, Toshiba!!!"

Affordable, powerful, portible laptop January 21, 2011

POSTED BY: Rich, Pittsburgh, PA
For Model: Portege R705-P40 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"I first noticed Toshiba R700 series because of their AirFlow Cooling tecnology. My friend works in the semiconductor industry told me that his new R700 is very cool, never feels the heat. He also recommend me to buy an R700 with an i5 CPU. Then I saw this product. It's completely affordable, very light, without sacrificing any functionality. It was very difficult for me to find a reason not to buy it, so I did. The mechine runs everything smoothly, even the facial recognition works very well. No doubt about its computing power. The battery life is pretty good. Never attempted to measure it, though I think it's in the range of 6-8 hours. Given the computing power I think it's pretty good. As for the AitFlow Cooling technology, I do feel the heat from the laptop once a while. Though never an issue for operation, it's certainly not the coolest laptop I've had, neither is it the hottest though. It's just not something particularlyworth to brag about. Another minor disappointment with the laptop is the stereo jack, that its "quiet noise" (the noise you hear from the headset when no music is being played) is louder than my U300, though quieter than an old Macbook Pro I have. The speaker is not very impressive either, but to be fair I don't think a fantastic speaker should be expected in an ultra mobile laptop. I have not carried it for a major travel yet, though given the light weight and long battery life, I can foresee that it will make my travel easier and maybe more interesting."

Looks good and performs well! January 08, 2011

POSTED BY: Jake, Seattle, WA
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"Nice looking computer and extremely light. Battery has been lasting about six hours, which is pretty good. Processor is speedy and performs graphic tasks well. I love the fact that it is an EPEAT Gold standard computer, which is an environmental certification. The only issues I have with the computer is that it does not have Bluetooth or a back-lit keyboard. Also the trackpad is very sensitive and if you use an external mouse, turn off the trackpad."

Good Laptop, Bad Speakers January 13, 2011

POSTED BY: Dawn, California
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"I researched quite a bit before buying this laptop. The Portege R705-P41 fit my needs perfectly. It runs my programs well & doesn't get overly hot. The only thing I wish is it had better speakers, the sound is very quiet it even with the volume at 100%. For watching Movies/Videos I recommend using headphones, you get much richer sound that way. My last laptops (Toshiba Satellite U305-S2812) speakers were louder/richer/better with the volume only set at 50%. I highly recommend this laptop to anyone that doesn't need powerful speakers. I also recommend maxing out the ram with 8gb."

Love it January 29, 2011

POSTED BY: psfmt, Fremont, CA
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"Love my new Toshiba. Is really light. Like the feel of the keys. And, battery life seems really good. Power management works well. Wish it has a keyboard light and finger reader for security. One improvement: you can hear the fan sometimes."

Great design and performance, some noise issues February 01, 2011

POSTED BY: Micro, Baltimore, MD
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"This Portege is extremely well designed and is very light and thin. The aesthetics are very attractive and the laptop has an executive look to it, characteristic of much more expensive machines. The keyboard and touchpad are great - responsive and easy to use, including multitouch. The processor is quite fast and handles everything I need easily. I haven't tried the WiDi yet, but it's nice to have it onboard. A more extensive media card reader would be nice. The only real problem I've had is that the laptop sometimes emits a high pitched noise, coming from the HDD or processor. The noise is a bit irritating, and, at times, this makes the computer difficult to use in quiet surroundings. Independent of the noise, it would be a near-perfect laptop, so hopefully a future update will solve the issue."

things to consider... February 08, 2011

POSTED BY: h
For Model: Portege R705-P41 Laptop
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"The labtop is nice, efficient and light. Battery life ~4 hours. Screen is not matt and reflects light. There is no light on top for typing in the dark. No designated Mute button. The shiny sliver panel in the corner in from weak plastic and broke within a month…."