Please wait...action in progress.

holiday return policy:

Purchases made through Toshiba Direct from November 28, 2014 through December 24, 2014 are eligible for return or exchange through January 15, 2015. Products, including laptops, netbooks, tablets, desktops, TV lamps, and accessories (batteries, remotes, Power adapters, etc), except those products specifically named as 'final sale' on the www.toshiba.com/us website, are eligible for refund or replacement. TAIS will not issue an RMA for a visual product to be returned for credit. All products eligible for return require a Return Material Authorization (RMA) number, which may be requested by calling 1-800-618-4444. To be considered for the holiday return period, an RMA request must be made no later than January 15, 2015 and all products qualified for return must be returned to TAIS within ten (10) days of customer receipt of the RMA number. The maximum TAIS will refund for items purchased through TAIS is the original purchase price of the product, less restocking fee, plus any related taxes. Original shipping and handling charges or similar fees and return shipping charges are not refundable. Returns made without an RMA number will be refused or returned to the Customer. All products with valid RMA authorization must be returned in original packaging and be in the same condition as Customer received them. Customer is responsible for shipping charges and risk of loss on all return shipments. Customer must use a reputable shipping carrier capable of providing proof of delivery, as well as properly packing and fully insuring the return shipment. Upon receipt of the returned product(s), TAIS will inspect the product to determine if the product has been opened, used, and whether it contains all parts included with the original shipment, and to confirm there was no modification, abuse or misuse of the product, or user negligence. TAIS may reject the return or deduct costs associated with: open packaging, missing parts, non original packaging, modification, abuse, misuse of the product or user negligence. While TAIS may issue an RMA for individual software packages represented by Customer as unopened, upon receipt and inspection any open packages will not be accepted for return/credit and will be returned to Customer.
Toshiba recommends Windows 8.

DESIGNED TO ENTERTAIN

Satellite® U840W

  • 21:9 cinematic ultra-widescreen display
  • harman/kardon® speakers with SRS® Premium Sound HD™
  • stylish dual-tone Aluminum casing
starts at $[finalPrice]

Customer Reviews for U840W

Awsome November 07, 2012

POSTED BY: Sam, CA
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"Best Ultrabook"

Great machine May 02, 2013

POSTED BY: kc, oakland, ca
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"A lot of people seem turned off by the wide screen, but I actually love it (and no, I'm not a huge media/movie buff). I work with a lot of spreadsheets and tables, so the wide screen is perfect for keeping multiple tasks open at once. The height is the same as my other ultra book, so the only real size difference is the bonus length. It looks very unique, which I like. The only complaint is that the keyboard buttons hardly depress upon touch (sort of like a touch-screen keyboard, except its not). Takes a lot of getting used to"

Different Laptop June 24, 2013

POSTED BY: Christianovski, Guatemala
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"The screen design helps a lot by working with to pages at the same time, for movies is not that great but works. The features like 3x3.0 USB is a differential compared to another Ultrabooks, same thing w/t the keyboard retro illumination, even this is vey weird, not that confi. Just another thing good to know is that this laptop is not that quiet the fan is a lil bit loud :p Overall is very good."

Good enough September 10, 2013

POSTED BY: Rosario
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 3.0 out of 5

"It's a good computer. Is light and the performance is good. Sometimes a little noisy. I was disappointed by the screen size and shape. It didn't look that short in the pictures."

Wish I had read the return policy!!! July 19, 2013

POSTED BY: Misky, Scottsdale az
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 2.0 out of 5

"I am not too pleased with this computer. I like the wide screen but its too short. There is also a problem with the wireless and it looses connection every 5 minutes. I then have to repair the wireless on the computer. Very sad I cannot return it"

First and last Toshiba computer April 18, 2013

POSTED BY: David, San Diego
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 1.0 out of 5

"Opened up my laptop (Satellite Pro) and there were physical issues. Key pad only lit up half, and the screen flickered."

where did the reliable toshiba go? September 05, 2013

POSTED BY: winsafe, south Florida
For Model: Toshiba Satellite U845W-S430 Ultrabook™
Overall rating: 1.0 out of 5

"Worst purchase I have ever made. Partly windows 8 and partly Toshiba. The mouse slows every step down. The wide short screen doesn't permit a full page, and scrolling is worse than terrible due to the mouse. The cursor flies all over whenever you try to scroll and then click on something--I finally figured out that you must make an extra move/click for EVERY cursor action. Click> Scroll>click>go do what you wanted to do>click. Windows 7 didn't slow you down this much. I think this is a Windows 8 problem, but Toshiba ought to have provided more cursor options. The keyboard is uneven--have to hit most keys so forcefully. The backlit keyboard lighting is way inferior to my Asus and you have to hit the first key in the dark before the lighting works at all. And for some reason the Toshiba goes to sleep every chance it gets even though I have set the sleep option to NEVER. And I cannot think of a single good thing to say about Windows 8. Stupidly trying to cater to people who can't read and only want rows of tiles to social media--no room in Windows 8 for someone who wants a pc for any kind of serious work. I still want a Quick Launch taskbar and the ability to find and delete pre-installed nonsense and programs which pop up even after they have been uninstalled. The only thing I can say for it is that it is lightweight; that's good when the product is garbage."