Please wait...action in progress.

holiday return policy:

Purchases made through Toshiba Direct from November 28, 2014 through December 24, 2014 are eligible for return or exchange through January 15, 2015. Products, including laptops, netbooks, tablets, desktops, TV lamps, and accessories (batteries, remotes, Power adapters, etc), except those products specifically named as 'final sale' on the www.toshiba.com/us website, are eligible for refund or replacement. TAIS will not issue an RMA for a visual product to be returned for credit. All products eligible for return require a Return Material Authorization (RMA) number, which may be requested by calling 1-800-618-4444. To be considered for the holiday return period, an RMA request must be made no later than January 15, 2015 and all products qualified for return must be returned to TAIS within ten (10) days of customer receipt of the RMA number. The maximum TAIS will refund for items purchased through TAIS is the original purchase price of the product, less restocking fee, plus any related taxes. Original shipping and handling charges or similar fees and return shipping charges are not refundable. Returns made without an RMA number will be refused or returned to the Customer. All products with valid RMA authorization must be returned in original packaging and be in the same condition as Customer received them. Customer is responsible for shipping charges and risk of loss on all return shipments. Customer must use a reputable shipping carrier capable of providing proof of delivery, as well as properly packing and fully insuring the return shipment. Upon receipt of the returned product(s), TAIS will inspect the product to determine if the product has been opened, used, and whether it contains all parts included with the original shipment, and to confirm there was no modification, abuse or misuse of the product, or user negligence. TAIS may reject the return or deduct costs associated with: open packaging, missing parts, non original packaging, modification, abuse, misuse of the product or user negligence. While TAIS may issue an RMA for individual software packages represented by Customer as unopened, upon receipt and inspection any open packages will not be accepted for return/credit and will be returned to Customer.
Toshiba recommends Windows® 7.

Satellite M640

  • no-compromise styling
  • a compact, performance-driven PC
  • recommended for multimedia on the go

Sorry, this product is no longer available.

Check out the NEW Satellite® P740 Series »


Customer Reviews for M640

Good! July 22, 2010

POSTED BY: babiie_chiyo, Garden Grove, CA
For Model: Satellite M645-S4048 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"I just bought this laptop, runs very good. whats best about it, is that it does'nt overheat! LOVE IT! i use it for school and home! i recommend this to college students like me ! perfect size too, not too small, not too big."

Laptop for Delelopers of Software September 14, 2010

POSTED BY: jaime85, Colombia
For Model: Satellite M645-S4048 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"This laptop is very good, It has a good balance of style and efficiency, the configuration of laptop is ideal for developer of sofware. I recommend this laptop."

Good Laptop for Developer of Software September 15, 2010

POSTED BY: jaime85, Valle, Colombia
For Model: Satellite M645-S4048 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"This laptop is very good, it has a good balance of style and efficiency. This laptop is ideal for a software developer."

Great Laptop September 25, 2010

POSTED BY: Journeyman, Kinnelon, NJ
For Model: Satellite M645-S4048 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"I traded up from an HP Pavilion and I am very pleased that I selected Toshiba. This laptop is blazing fast and allows me to run multiple applications. I occasionally watch Blu-ray films on the laptop and the picture quality and sound are superb. I am most impressed with this mode's ease of use."

very good laptop in fact! October 08, 2010

POSTED BY: Bakinka, Exeter, UK
For Model: Satellite M645-S4055 Laptop
Overall rating: 5.0 out of 5

"It's been like two weeks I've bought my laptop, I'm almost completely satisfied with performance I got for that price. The only minus is that sometimes the loudspeakers are doing some interrupting brief technical noise. I can't yet say anything about battery life, because haven't yet used it in that conditions. Possibly more than 4 hours with the ECO turned on. The performance is really perfect. It's also suitable for games with its supported graphics. So, 4 gigs of RAM, 1 gig of Video with i5 processor are amazing. Besides, it's compact and light. Also love its slot CD/DVD drive. I highly recommend this laptop!"

May I have M645-S4048's User Guide Manual PDF? October 26, 2010

POSTED BY: Bourne, Palo Alto, CA
For Model: Satellite M645-S4048 Laptop
Overall rating: 4.0 out of 5

"I think that will help me a lot! Actually, now, I dont know how to sleep-and-music, I dont know how to switch the Intel HD and Nvidia graphic card. BTW, if I can get an address to download the Toshiba installation file for my laptop, I will appreciate that forever!"

Could be a little better September 07, 2010

POSTED BY: Stormrider, Brazil, SC
For Model: Satellite M645-S4048 Laptop
Overall rating: 3.0 out of 5

"There are three flaws in this notebook that bugs me. The lack of bluetooth and a decent graphic card are two of them. This laptop is definitelly not for gaming, even though there is noneless then a 6.8 Windows score processor here. The third and major flaw is the heat that comes out of the right side of the laptop, so if you prefer to use a mouse instead of the touchpad (like me), the heat is going to be very annoying to the hand. A geforce 310m would be way better than a blu-ray drive. Maybe in the US it`s a value for the money, not my case though. In the good side, the processor is very powerful, I love the LED backlit keyboard, the sound is above average for laptops, can do about 3 hours on battery and...this laptop is VERY stylish and beautiful."

cute and stylish laptop August 31, 2010

POSTED BY: manu-india, jubail-saudi
For Model: Satellite M645-S4045 Laptop
Overall rating: 3.0 out of 5

"its a cute and stylish laptop with good performance.... but my keyboard LED backlight is not working..... can toshiba help me to solve this problem? please....."