Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba dynadock® U3.0 Universal USB 3.0 Docking Station
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba dynadock® U3.0 Universal USB 3.0 Docking Station

Part Number: PA3927U-1PRP
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 51 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$179.99
Instant Savings:
-$30.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $149.99
Offer expires 10/6/14
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 09/19/2014.
Learn More
Toshiba dynadock® U3.0 Universal USB 3.0 Docking Station Toshiba dynadock® U3.0 Universal USB 3.0 Docking Station
Rated 2.8039/5 based on 51 customer reviews
$149.99 In stock
Product description: Expand your computer's potential with the dynadock U3.0, the universal docking station that links all your electronic devices to your laptop with just one single USB 3.0 cable. Now with one simple cable connection to your computer, you can access to large screen displays, stereo speakers, external hard drive, optical drive, printer, full-size keyboard and mouse. Surf the Internet while you listen to music, check your email and social networking accounts, watch streaming videos, write a paper, work on a presentation, or whatever else you can imagine!
 
Detailed Product SpecificationsDetailed Product Specifications PDF

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent ProductApril 19, 2012
by HotRod Richard from Coldwater, MI
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Unlike the other poor gentleman that left a review, everything works great with this docking station here. All of my USB Ports work perfect, I'm using 5 out of the 6 USB Ports available, and the audio jacks for my external speakers with great sound. Another feature I had not expected to use was the network connection, but once I took that for a test drive with super fast speeds on my network, I'm now using that for my ethernet connection as well. I had no issues with the software installation. I use Windows 7 Ultimate. I'm again impressed by a Toshiba Product, this docking station is connected to my Satellite and it works so well that I plan to purchase a 2nd docking station for my Qosmio
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Finally a dock that works seamlesslyMay 1, 2012
by sigh from Singapore, SG
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have reservations with Displaylink technology. Previous versions has disappointed me with the computing resources required and inability to display motion video (even at low image quality). However, this dock is outstanding. Everything works (USB, Ethernet, Dual display, Audio). I connect using an Expresscard USB 3.0 adapter. My laptop does not have USB 3.0 built-in. I have two 24" monitors at 1920x1200. My laptop is 13" at 1366x768. It works perfectly. All 3 displays works at the same time. CPU usage is minimal. Better still, I tried playing those 1080p videos. There is no lag, no stuttering, no defect at all. It performs just like a desktop. Ethernet, Audio, USB peripherals... all works. Never has a docking station works as good as this, even those that comes natively for the laptops. What I would like: An ON-OFF switch but it is not a big deal.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Everything Works GreatJune 14, 2012
by KansasRon
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Have a 17" Dell XPS laptop. Every connection on this dock works. Have the following plugged in: Monitor, Wireless Mouse/Keyboard receiver, USB drive external hard drive, Epson inkjet printer, Intuos tablet, speakers, network cable, and a second photo printer. Installed easily. Worked out of the box.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great/simpleJuly 12, 2012
by Keyser Soze from San Jose, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Plugged it in (USB, monitor, network). Left the WIFI on my laptop. Downloaded the drivers from Toshiba. Installed the drivers. Reboot... Turned WIFI off -- yahoo network through the device. Set to external monitor. Bingo... Up and .running. My laptop: ASUS UX32VD, WIndows 7, Ultimate
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love itDecember 21, 2012
by Xware Innovations from Cookeville, Tn
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have seen a lot of bad reviews from people claiming to be "IT Specialists" claiming loads of problems with this this.. I will admit if installed improperly I did have some issues.. I have two of these one at home and one at the office.. and my laptop goes everywhere with me. im running a Toshiba Qosmio x875 and a dynadock 3.0 with windows 8 Pro 64 bit and it works perfect. plug laptop in , and everything just works.. First and Foremost Start with the Driver CD.. I seem to of had the issues when letting windows automatically install this device. install the software and then plug in the device. I haven't had any problems doint it this way.. I am the CEO and Primary Tech of Xware Innovations in Cookeville, TN an I endorse this dock 100%
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Flawless performanceMarch 11, 2013
by Chess from US
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Initially hesitant bcoz of negative reviews here and on a couple other sites. I went ahead and bought this model December 14, 2012. While there may have been firmware issues in the past, I have had absolutely none. Several issues that others have complained about lead me to believe that they did not do the initial instal correctly. The manual very clearly states to NOT plug in the usb to computer cable till after instal software (drivers) have been installed. It is essential that you follow those directions to the letter. I installed mine to a Toshiba L675D-S7046 connected to a Samsung 27" display per Toshiba Dock directions... worked flawless. A couple weeks later I shut down everything and unplugged the dock from the ac and the usb connection. I removed the drivers and install package from the laptop and then started "new" instal by 1st plugging in the USB to computer and then booting windows. Immediately had issues getting windows 7 to boot, finally got windows to boot and it (windows) recognized new hardware and started the windows 7 install wizard. I had more issues than time to go into... failure to transfer desktop to external monitor, usb ports on dock not working / not recognizing plugged in devices and then all of a sudden working fine. Resolution settings not holding to my setting. So I am convinced that you MUST do the install exactly as Toshiba outlines. I went back, stripped the bad install off and re-did the install according to Toshiba's manual... word for word, and have had no issues, not one single issue. Currently running same laptop, WD passport drive, numerous other small drives, external monitor, HDMI connection to my TV, a tablet and phone also charge. I hot swap without a 2nd thought. It's been a great investment and made my workspace and entertainment system much more unified and clean. +1 all the way.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Docking Port for MS Surface ProJune 19, 2013
by Buddy from IN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The Dynadock USB 3.0 is fantastic for my Microsoft Surface Pro. I have 2-21" monitors, DVD Drive, 1.5 TB Backup drives, Gigabit Ethernet, Speakers, Keyboard and Mouse. They all work GREAT... Setup was a breeze. download and install the latest drivers from Toshiba, plug it all in and it works. Could not be more pleased.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent universal dockJuly 27, 2013
by Jerry from Maine
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have found this dock to work great and the Diplaylink software is frequently updated. The Win 8.1 driver works great. There are no more wires for this than any other dock and the additionaal ports right on your desk are great, eliminating the need for usb hubs, etc. Being able to use the laptop screen as a second monitor and position it anywhere on your desk is a plus. Other docks such as Dells proprietary dock really have to stay in one place which can be a pain plus they are not compatible with other laptops. It would be nice if the dock would supply power to at least Toshiba laptops but that is a minor gripe.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
ExcellentMarch 18, 2014
by Contractor from Houston, Texas
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
We use a solid state tablet PC as the main computer for our construction company. We operate and manage the company and projects in real time from this computer. We have dynadocks in several locations. Which allows us to be multi screen operation. This important to be able to open and use the estimating, accounting, project management software all at the same time. Dynadock is seamless.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
ExcellentSeptember 10, 2014
by DeadSpace
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have to say the information out on the web regarding laptop docks is somewhat sketchy and unclear as to if the device can do what you need, but this was the first one that I was confident enough to purchase to know it would do the job. (Windows 8) Installed the drivers prior to plugging in, set everything up, powered the dynadock on and plugged it in, and it is absolutely perfect. No network speed issues, monitors are lag free, the video performance only slowed when I ran 3 x 1080p youtube videos (more to do with the laptop), and even then the mouse was still responsive. I now run a laptop at 1366x768 and 2 x 24" screens at 1920x1080 and the performance is flawless. My desk is now clutter free. Perfect solution.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
SolidAugust 12, 2013
by ello_phil from Perth, WA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Ive had the dynadock 3.0 for a few days and love it! Its perfect for me as ive got a Win7 bootcamped Macbook Air (late 2010), but i now have the ability to hook up to 2 external monitors with its HD video card, and a USB 3.0 hub for all my accessories. Highly recommend this product to those who love multiple monitors on ultra laptops.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Nice But...July 1, 2013
by Eddie from Washington DC
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
The unit is definately the best since sliced bread if you own a Microsoft Surface Pro...Provided your not runnint the Windows 8.1 Preview. there is currently no drivef for this device under 8.1 everything works except the Video ports. under8 hiwever, it works like a charm..
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
FlawlessApril 7, 2013
by Sam from Nor Cal
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Takes some tech savy adjustment....with sound, video and drivers, but once it's set up it works flawlessly. Very impressed with performance. Have had it for over a year.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
virtual perfectJanuary 13, 2013
by Al from Hamburg, Germany
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
- good graphics for business and multimedia (not games) - good audio features with front and rear ports - good usb and network performance. Its installed to windows nearly invisible (no tools needed) and works flawlessly. No driver issues, no problems with shutting down and standby or so. (win7-64 notebook) I would like an integrated a/c adapter instead of an external one and some more cables. Could be little more slender to enhance portability. Nearly perfect product for a very reasonable price (in comparison to classic docking-stations).
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
New firmware/ driver corrected all issuesDecember 19, 2012
by MarkR from Venice FL
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Purchased this in September to go with my new Qosmio X875 laptop; lots of features but had some issues with booting up (had to leave dock up plugged to boot) and on occasion would get blue screen; was not major as it happened maybe 2x month but still a problem; was not sure if dock; then found new driver and firmware'; that seems to correct all problems so that I now have a great docking station loaded with features including being able to drive my 2 external 27" monitors and my notebook screen is a separate screen so I have three monitors; great docking station..
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
a Great productNovember 21, 2012
by notebook user from Eastern North Carolina
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have a Toshiba notebook computer and I use the 3.0 when at home (which is 95% of my computer time). It does everything I ask of it without once steering me wrong. I work at my desk every day (about 2-3 hours daily) and have no issues with this product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Works as advertisedOctober 5, 2012
by BrunoT from The ATL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
It was a pretty simple install. It doesn't seem to slow my video performance from my i7 equipped laptop with a video card. I don't game much, however. The only issue I've had is I have it set to default to my laptop plus one monitor, and sometimes the laptop screen has to be manually enabled. Also, if I plug the unit into the laptop before booting it, I get black screens. So boot the laptop first. It pays for itself vs having to upgrade in price to a dockable Dell laptop (latitude series) with inferior performance, where I'd still have to buy a dock anyway.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Works well in Office EnvironmentOctober 11, 2012
by Don from Irvine, CA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
EQUIPMENT - Dell XPS 13, Core i7, 4GB. Dual Monitors, headset, mouse, keyboard, external HD. PROS: - Had mine for 4 months, purchased 3 more for office and all are working fine. - Great for mobile users. User comes into office, plugs into one cable and is connected to dual monitors (HDMI & DVI), mouse, keyboard, ethernet, headset, & external HD and settings for monitors are remembered. Unplug one cable and the user is mobile again. CONS: - First driver install did not work for mic and ethernet. Took a couple of hours to find a fix, but when did, it finally worked like it suppose to. - Of the 6 USB ports, only 4 of them were usable. When plugged 4 USB devices in, noticed the lag so I switched the USB around to different ports in different combination and finally got it so that there was no to minimal lag. OVERALL - even though it was a headache to setup properly, I would purchase this again (now that i figured out the driver issue and what USB ports to stay away from). Very few products in the market now that really competes unfortunately.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
One cable not trueJanuary 8, 2013
by Mayfair - support from London
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
What a shame it doesn't quite live up to the one cable billing - it still requires the power lead to the laptop. If that had been sorted this would be really good.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
doesn't connect the 6 USB hubsApril 12, 2012
by jtf from laca
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Windows 7 professional on Toshibe Portege R835 The 6 USB hubs aren't recognized when connected to the USB 3 hub on the laptop. MSoft and Toshiba do not provide dirvers. The Toshiba disk only provides video drivers. Too expensive for a USB2 device. The unit does work on USB 2 ports for both W7 and WXP
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Not for gamersJune 7, 2012
by kram from Boston Ma
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Works great until I try to play a game. I have a Dell XPS 15 laptop. Top of line i7,8g all the bells and whistles. Works great, does everything they say until I try to play a game. First used an older game Total Annihilation. Got GUI errors and direct x errors. Thought maybe because it is to old so tried a newer game Supreme Commander. Got 3D errors. On there info and solutions page it states that the dynodock does not support 3D. I have to connect 1 monitor to my laptop so I can play games. Kind of defeats the purpose of the docking station. Now I connect and disconect 2 wires instead of 5.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Great device, BUTOctober 27, 2012
by cjhickles from California
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Like many people here and elsewhere online, the laptop WILL NOT BOOT if the docking station is attached at power on. Have to disconnect it until the OS boots. Toshiba seems to have no answer for this.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Laptop without powerNovember 19, 2012
by Turenne from Netherlands
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Works as promised wiht one exception. You need an extra charger for your latop. So the one cable feature is not a correct statement!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Black OutSeptember 6, 2013
by Blacked out from Big Lake Mn
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have had 3 of these and the video has either not worked or quit after a short amount of time. My second monitor is dead and now I have to purchase a 2.0 USB monitor to have it back.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Not as nice as a conventional docking stationJanuary 16, 2013
by Mike in Weston from Weston, FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The pros of this upright dock are the number of and access to connectors. I wish there were more! However, that's the last pro, and also a problem because all those wires really drive the positioning of the unit - they're all stiff and the unit is relatively light. As a result, you end up with a bit of a tangle at the unit and it can't easily be moved or turned. Also, the unit generates a TON of radio interference for Logitec and Microsoft wireless mouse/keyboards. The Toshiba wireless mouse/keyboard works flawlessly, so somebody there is aware of this issue and fixed it, but the Toshiba keyboard and mouse I received are something less than full size so I'd rather use another product. After a month of frustration and buying different mouse/keyboards (and BTW tech support was of NO help on this) I found that moving the USB connector between my laptop and the dynadock to the far side of my laptop and the USB mouse/keyboard wireless connector closer the issue "went away." So here's the biggest problem - I still have to connect laptop power, the dynadock USB and the mouse/keyboard USB in the morning and remove them in the evening... yes, it's only three but a conventional dock requires NO plugging and unplugging, and there is no wasted space around the laptop and dock necessary to do that plugging and unplugging. This product wastes a lot of desk space, increase tangle, and is much less convenient than a conventional dock. I wouldn't do it again.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Ports without PowerDecember 25, 2012
by MobileWarrior from Fort Wayne, IN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Keyboard, Mouse, Network, and extra Monitor all work but was disappointed the unit did not charge my Protégé R930.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
needs work...but gets the job doneDecember 8, 2012
by meg
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Installation of the Dyna Dock U 3.0 is a pain it will install and then promptly tell you that the drivers are out of date,very annoying, but we bought this one because its universal and it does work with the seven different laptops that rotate between this dock which we have two 19' monitors, a wireless mouse, and a wireless keyboard going through all which work beautifully. It's works just fine with external hard drives and even charges are Ipads and phones as long as we''re using our laptops.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
July 6, 2012
by phantom_berlin from Berlin
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
There is one big problem with this device: its description is pretty misleading concerning audio via HDMI. It says: "- HDMI™ out port built-in for Full 1080 HD video and gaming - 5.1 channel surround sound through HDMI™ or 3.5mm audio ports" Which means to me, I can transfer audio signals via the HDMI port WITHOUT video signals and without having to turn on HDMI as a monitor. I wanted to connect my Dynadock with my AMP via HDMI without having to set up an extended screen which I actually don't have. With the current limitation the mouse can leave the screen on the right and the video chip is consuming energy for nothing. As the support hotline informed me, there will be NO Driver update to allow the HDMI port be used as pure Audio output. In this way, the device completely lacks a digital audio out port, which is a very major downgrade to me compared to the previous model I had. I'll send this item back and I'd like to ask Toshiba to either upgrade the drivers or adjust the product description to clarify this issue.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
I wonder if they even tested itSeptember 20, 2012
by Jase from Salt Lake City
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I am an IT guy for a smaller company. We now have 5 of these and it's going to stay at 5 unless we send some back, then it will be less than 5 of course. Sick of the inconsistencies and problems with rebooting when the dock is plugged in. OS just hangs until you remove the dock from the USB. I've gotten some to finally work by reinstalling drivers, particularly updated ones from the net. One still needs work. Have to warn user to always have laptop up and running before he plugs in the dock. Now I am fighting with one that wont deliver network. Says network cable is unplugged despite a clear connection on the device itself (via blinking orange and solid green lights). This device is too finicky and needs another round of refining before beta testing on the public.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Not so greatSeptember 29, 2012
by Albuquerque505 from Albuquerque, NM
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I guess I drank the cool aide when I listed to the sales support talk about the greatness of this product. It wasn't that great. I was more trouble than it was worth with all of the plugging and unplugging I had to do. Did not find this product useful at all.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Network and Display problems with Z830-11XJune 14, 2012
by Raf from Belgium
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Ethernet and external screen (using DVI cable) aren't working when using this dynadock with my Toshiba Z830-11X.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Good in concept, not in executionJuly 20, 2012
by dyna-frustrated from College Park, MD
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I am trying to use dynadock with a new Toshiba notebook. I really liked the ability to link notebook to external monitor etc. without multiple cords. After working for a short while, I have encountered repeated problems with the USB 3.0 connection no longer detected by dynadock and all video output and internet connection is lost. I have downloaded most recent drivers and this has done nothing to correct the problem. I find it troubling that the dynadock is unable to work with another Toshiba product and the online documentation is poor including the "troubleshooting guide" (e.g., the guide notes that 7 device drivers should appear in Device Manager list yet says nothing about what to do if they do not appear -- even after repeatedly reinstalling the software and device driver updates). If I can get this to work it would be a lovely device.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not ReliableJuly 24, 2012
by DZ
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
When connecting an external LCD the dynadock has trouble switching between my Ultrabook bulit-in display and the one attched to it. Just 5 months in and just had to send it back for warranty repair. The Ethernet Connection stopped working on the dynadock. I am not impressed with the reliability...
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not ready YetAugust 26, 2012
by Bill from DC
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Well documented problems for 3.0. Works better with 2.0 as teh forum states. System degrades quickly. As others said, will not work under a full load as some component will degrade such as sound or mouse (for me). Returned first and second was not better. Monitor functions seem to work nicely though. Needs significant driver upgrade. I have not found anyone on any forum who has used successfully under load for any duration. I guess I will keep a while until driver is updated from Toshiba as I foolishly threw away packaging.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very poor productNovember 11, 2012
by mb from Melbourne, Australia
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Toshiba Ultrabook does not boot up when connected to the dynadock. Also many devices work poorly when connected through the dynadock (e.g. wireless mouse and keyboard) whereas they work perfectly when connected directly to the laptop. I would not recommend anyone buys this product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not worth itNovember 27, 2012
by skeeziix from spencer, iowa
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I am a support technician we have bought several of these devices because of the screen resolution capabilities, we have had nothing but problems. We upgraded to this model thinking it would work better but it is the same. On this one whenever I copy and paste to the network it blips out completely all connections are lost.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Do Not BuyDecember 17, 2012
by Velocity from Madison, WI
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This is the single most disappointing peripheral i have ever encountered. This product will cause significant issues with your computer, including not being able to shut down your computer while not docked if it was booted while docked. It does not power the unit, and kills your video capabilities. If you spend money on a quality video card, this product will negate it for you. This product is so bad that i can't believe it is still for sale from a reputable manufacturer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dynadock USB 3.0April 3, 2013
by abacaxi from Frisco, TX
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
I ordered a Dynadock USB 3.0 for my Toshiba C650 laptop. After some back and forth I got it running - I connected it to a SAMSUNG VGA monitor to check out the Dynadock before I would get a new LCD monitor with HDMI etc. I shut down the laptop, and the next morning when I booted up the laptop, I had no external display - dark. I disconnected the DD and monitor from the laptop and restarted it. It froze up at the first attempt to open a file. It would not allow access to the Task Manager nor allow a shutdown. I forced the shutdown and rebooted it. I got a message that Windows had encountered a major problem and the recommendation to repair it. After almost 30 minutes, the recovery to an earlier boot-up point was done, the laptop worked fine again. I uninstalled the DD driver. The monitor is no longer working, regardless whether I connect it to the laptop directly or to the PC. Lesson learned: I should have believed the one and two star comments and not ordered the device. The request for an RMA is being processed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Nice try, ToshibaMay 2, 2014
by GoThunder from OKC
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I purchased the DD about a year ago, and a couple of months back I noticed my internet connection started to drop out. The only way to fix it was to reboot the DD. Then, a few weeks back, my external screen started to freeze as well and the keyboard didn't work. So the entire DD crashed. I had to go to wifi instead of wired connection, which solved one of the issues, but I still looses precious time doing my job. I tried updating to the latest DynaLink software (v7.6) to no avail. It turns out I don't have to power cycle the thing, just unplug the USB, wait a few secs for the laptop to realize it, then replug it. It still takes a while, though. Luckily, I just realized I still got 14 days left of my warranty. I hope they will help me getting the situation resolved, but based on the number of reviews with the same issue as me, I don't have much hope.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Do not buy!February 24, 2014
by vPSI from Houston, TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I bought this originally in September 2013. After less than a month of actual use, it failed completely. I called and reported it to Acclaim and, through various internal problems, didn't get a replacement until December 2013. I've been using this iteration of the docking station pretty regularly until now: the network port just quit working. I'll be replacing it with a non-Toshiba brand docking station or going without a docking station at all. I will not get this one again, even though it is still under warranty and would be free.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Great idea, poorly executed - don't botherSeptember 18, 2013
by Gandalf the White from Houston, TX
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
The concept is great: plug everything into the Dynadock, then have a single USB 3.0 connection to the laptop. That, and a power supply, allows the laptop to be my main workhorse in the office. I have it connected to a 27" monitor and love having both screens working. Now the bad news, after about 2 months use. 1. Video on the ext. monitor keeps freezing. It will work for a day or two, then in the middle of an action (various programs, no pattern) the ext. monitor will just freeze: no mouse motion, no update. The mouse will appear on the laptop screen and the laptop is still running, but the ext. monitor is stuck. Cycling monitor power has no impact; soft-cycling the extended screen on/off has no effect. Only solution appears to be to unplug the USB and plug back in, or power cycle the Dynadock - so you lose everything connected to the Dynadock for that period (for me, that included Ethernet, scanner, smartphone). After that it is good for another few hours (or sometimes minutes), or maybe days. 2. With or without the Dynadock attached, startup is significantly slower. 3. With or without the Dynadock attached, the laptop screen will flicker on and off randomly, and the active window may change in the process. Typing a report when this happened and ended up typing into a totally different program. With the Dynadock attached, both screens will flicker on and off now and then, almost as if the laptop was switching displays. (And no, all cables were secure.) The problem is not my ext. monitor either. With the monitor connected to the laptop's VGA port directly, with the same cable, everything is fine and stable. I had updated the software drivers to the latest release from the Toshiba website (7.4) - if anything, it got worse, although that may have been my patience running out the door. For now, I have uninstalled the software and drivers. The Dynadock unit is now an expensive paperweight. Screen problems are gone and startup speed has been restored. As another reviewer has said - "don't bother.".
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
don't botherSeptember 11, 2013
by irvirv from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
This is one of those products that will work if you cross your fingers AND your toes. Works then doesn't. Put an external drive, a printer, keyboard, and mouse to it and that was it - trashed the machine. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very Unstable and Poor DisplayApril 7, 2013
by Harry from Mountain View, CA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
It is a chore to get it running, not a plug and play. Still has a clutter of wires on the workspace. Even after you get it installed, there are many problems. I have had it for almost a year. My latest one will get me to dump this device. The HDMI out to the monitor is very unstable. I went to Displaylink web site and tried everything. The monitor becomes blurry for 4-5 minutes at a time and then becomes better. Good idea, poor execution. Poor Price to Value. Do not recommend this at any price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No other word but - RubbishApril 4, 2013
by RarelyComplain123 from Gilbert, AZ
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I got my wife a Toshiba Laptop for Christmas. It was a pain to unplug all of the devices (mouse, second screen, CAT5, etc.) when she wanted to take the laptop around the house. Late February I bought her a Dynadock U3.0 - not the cheapest but I thought that it had to be good quality since it was pitched by Toshiba. Well since we installed it we have had nothing but problems. From not being able to find and install the drivers, to loosing network connection on a regular basis, and loosing connection to devices. Today I decided to remove and trash the Dynadock U3.0. The Toshiba laptop is still working, but maybe our next laptop will not be from a company with "T" in its name.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Nice idea that failsMarch 22, 2013
by xladlk from Houston, TX
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
When I first installed the device about 6mo ago, everything worked fine; DVI port, Ethernet, speakers, USB drives, etc. The some software/firmware upgrade comes along on my system and it locks up with the DVI port in use. After several hours, I got everything working by plugging my monitor directly into the VGA port of the laptop. A few more months have passed and another software/firmware happened on the system and it locked up with the DD connected in any manner. Got the machine working w/o the DD but it locked up again as soon as it completed docking; laptop and external monitor screens both go dark and remember, external monitor not even hocked to DD. This time fix is permanent; DD is in the trash.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
beware!December 5, 2012
by catgon
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Listen, not sure about these 5star reviews going around (fake or just lucky?) - i'm an IT support tech and we just bought this dynadock along with a brand new Toshiba Tecra notebook. I confirm all previous statements regarding the OS restart while dynadock is connected - only 2-3 times did the OS NOT hang while loading, have to restart/boot the PC without the dynadock attached. Also network operations (when not using the notebook's direct wi-fi/ethernet connection) and in this private case domain operations and routines did not work 100% - computer ends up performing poorly -> really drags on and sometimes even hangs - you know, when you're using an old machine and you try to launch an application and that only comes up 2-3min after you clicked it? that's how poorly it behaved. just disconnect the USB cable link to dynadock and OS picks up the pace and immediately processes any pending operations (launches all pending applications, etc.). This dynadock was installed using the drivers on CD. We'll try to see if we can at least reduce the amount of problems as right now I see no point in using it - definitely a big loss versus proprietary docking stations (i.e. not USB port replicators like dynadock) and more trouble than it's worth! If you're just surfing the net or some other light-weight task, i guess you won't have that many issues, but this is definitely not fit for professional/domain use. Also, and this just a personal comment i do find the "real" docking-stations to be so much better - at work I use a notebook that I take home with me. The true docking station allows me to slide my notebook in and be connected to everything (no plugging of cables, specially power supply) and overall great performance on peripherals. This style of "docking station" requires me to connect/disconnect the power supply cables of the notebook each time i arrive at work (and it's a hassle, big heavy cables that I can't keep nicely hidden away because I need to collect them at the end of the day - unless of course i get an extra set of power supply cables for my notebook). And remember how on OS restart I need to keep dynadock disconnected? I have never had to connect/disconnect cables so many times on a docking station on a daily basis.. Hope my review can help others, just my 2cents.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
frequent problemsNovember 22, 2012
by never again
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
"-freezes whenever I attempt to upload anything substantial to internet repositories -looses internet connection every now and then, needing a reset by a power-off -my OS (the terms&conditions makes me feel I shall not write which one it is, but probably you are right with your guess) stopped recognizing it after some updates, causing the screen, mouse and keyboard behaving strangely or not working at all. When I attempt to update the driver from the cd, it says the driver is up to date. Still don't know what to do, researching and wasting time
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
JunkOctober 31, 2012
by NO toshiba products! from Evansville, IN
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Do not buy this product. I brought this with my new custom Toshiba laptop and could not get it to work properly and now my 2 month old laptop has crashed as well. Appears to be because of this docking station.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
YouTube upload causing slownessSeptember 3, 2012
by T
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
While I am uploading a video to youtube, dynadock screen is unstable. My laptop is top of the line with USB 3.0
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Unstable and unreliableJuly 23, 2012
by Dynadocked from Sydney, NSW, Australia
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
The features are all great - in theory. The network adapter stops working under full load, the display attached just freezes and audio has stopped working, too. All that during normal use within just 5 days - not impressed. If only I would have kept the packaging ... I would send it back.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Does not workJuly 8, 2012
by Burak
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
I purchased this dynadock in order to add multiple monitors to my hp dv7 quad edition laptop. It has been causing a lot of problems. Whenever my laptop goes to sleep, I cannot get it to come back. I have had so many blue screens already. It constantly crashes my laptop. This laptop is only 8 months old with a i7 cpu, 8 gig ram and 2 gig video card. It just doesn't work.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba dynadock® U3.0 Universal USB 3.0 Docking Station
Averages based on 51 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 2.8 out of 5
Features: 3.6 out of 5
Performance: 2.7 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2.7 out of 5
21 of 51 (41%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba dynadock® U3.0 Universal USB 3.0 Docking Station - Write a Review Close  Close