Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder

Part Number: DVR620
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 25 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$219.99
Instant Savings:
-$30.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $189.99
Offer expires 11/22/14
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 10/27/2014.
Learn More
Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder
Rated 2.2593/5 based on 25 customer reviews
$189.99 In stock
Product description: Explore Toshiba's innovative laptops, accessories, projectors and electronics. Find the best fit for your home or business.
 
Toshiba Direct | Laptops, Notebooks, Accessories, Electronics & Projectors

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Nice product has 2 downfallsJanuary 20, 2012
by DVR620 User from Michigan
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I love this product, it looks sharp, clean and easy to use. Problems lie in the S-video, it sends out but the [s video-in] port doesn't work at all, everything else does tho. Problem 2 is that the DVR cant be controlled threw HDMI like newer HDMI connected products, witch isn't a big shock but a little disappointing. Other than that its an Excellent piece of equipment. P.S. Also the Unit will not Dub protected VHS Tapes to DVD it sends an error message and stops.recording.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
DVD+RW Worked Very WellNovember 5, 2013
by Jerry from Springfield, OR
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have been using the Sony DVD+RW and have recorded about 20 DVD's this week with no problems using the XP mode for the best quality. I just followed the below procedure on VHS to DVD dubbing and make sure you push the Rec Mode button to the left of the REC button at that step. If the DVD+RW is unformatted it will format when inserted. It will try to load and then go into the Format process. If you have used this DVD on your computer, Format it in Explorer and then put it into the Toshiba and go into Setup: DVD Menu: Format and Format the DVD again. And when you have completed your DVD, perform the Finalize procedure if you are going to use the DVD on another device. I have deleted and edited the Titles without any problems. With all of the procedures I have done, I have not received any errors. On the initial setup in the beginning I made a few changes from default below due to the TV and sound system that I have. I'm using HDMI to the TV and RCA from the Toshiba L1 to the Comcast cable unit. I have had this unit for a couple of years now and have had no problems. Playback: PCM-96kHz, Dolby-PCM Video: Progressive-On Recording: PCM, Disc Full-On, End of Timer Rec-On, Aspect Ratio Video Mode-16:9, Make Recording Compatible-On HDMI: RGB Range-Enhanced Dubbing VHS to DVD on DVR620KU Model Before beginning the steps below, press Setup on your remote. General Setting should be highlighted. Press the Enter button on the remote. Playback should be highlighted. Press the down arrow key on the remote (below the Enter button# until Recording is highlighted, then press Enter. Auto Chapter should be highlighted. Down arrow to Dubbing Mode. The VCR->DVD mode should be checked. If not, down arrow to it and press enter. Then press return. Keep pressing return till you are back at Setup. For VHS->DVD dubbing: 1. Press DVD button on remote #near bottom right, with green background#. 2. Press Open/Close on remote. DVD Caddy door should open. 3. Place DVD on caddy. 4. Press Open/Close on remote. DVD Caddy door should close. Let the loading of the DVD complete. 5. Press the REC MODE button on the remote repeatedly until you see the record mode that you want to use. Those can be XP, SP, LP, EP, or SLP. 6. Press VCR button on remote #to the left of DVD button, with orange background#. 7. Insert VHS tape into VHS slot. 8. Press Play on remote. VHS should start playing and its playback be visible on your TV. Press Pause on the remote. 9. Press the DVD button on the remote again. 10. Press the Dubbing button on the remote #near bottom left#. DVD recording should then begin, recording from VHS, and the VHS tape should resume playing. 11. Press Stop on the remote to stop recording. If you've tried this and it's not working, explain what is going wrong at what step. Note that if the VHS tape is copy protected #i.e. a commercial tape instead of your own recording) then you may not be able to do the VHS->DVD dubbing.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
DVR620 DVD RecorderMarch 5, 2012
by Archiver from Carrollton, TX
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I've recorded well over 100 DVDs on my 620 in 15 months and cannot recall a DVD record failure on any brand. I would have given 5 stars as a DVD only recorder. The VCR dub to DVD is poorly conceived -you can't pause the DVD during recording, and the recording quality is poor if the tracking has problems.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
DVR burnerJuly 6, 2013
by sandy from denver, colorado
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
great for dubs, only problem has been the remote freezing when i tried to add titles
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Doing fineSeptember 23, 2013
by steady freddy from Austin, TX
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Have copied 20 vcr(compact) to dvd -r discs without any problems. Like a few others I did push the rec button instead of the rec mode button prior to pushing the dubbing button. Other than that all went well. Hoping for a long life from this unit.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Did the job well!March 1, 2013
by Danny from Ottawa, Ontario
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Bought this machine for dubbing family VCR tapes to DVDs. Follow 9 step instructions from manual page 50-51 to setup the dubbing procedure. Anyway, I just let it run until it done. Check recorded DVD as good as the VCR tape. Don’t know why other users have issues. May perhaps pressed the wrong button at step 7. It happened when I first use it, the REC button just next to the REC MODE button!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
problem with different channelsAugust 13, 2014
by tibbar
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This DOES NOT have a tuner, external tuner required IE cable/satelite reciever using the V/A ports L1/L2.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
finalize your disksDecember 12, 2012
by Me from NJ
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
To everyone who said that the disks don't play on other dvd players. You probably have to finalize the disk before you put it in another device. You can put the disk back in the player and find the option in the menu somewhere. Once it is finalized then it will play in other players.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
ONLY CAN RECORD ONE CHANNELApril 22, 2013
by jardelina from Winnipeg, Canada
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Buyer Beware: I bought this DVD/VCR Recorder to record different TV programs on different channels during the daytime while i was at work, but only came up with L1/L2 on the channel. What happened to this system? Previous DVD recorder could tape any channel. Very DISSAPOINTING! If anyone knows how to record different channels, your advice would be appreciated.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Solution to dvd simpleSeptember 22, 2014
by Jimbo from Oregon
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I had an issue with the dvr being "stuck" in vcr mode after timer recording a television show. I could not get the dvr to respond to any remote command and it was stuck in vcr mode. I finally figured out that I had to press the "timer set" button once and then press the "dvr" button. The dvr then worked as intended.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Not good for VHS recordingJuly 14, 2012
by Tzigg from Anheim,CA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
There are only two choices for recording VHS tapes, 2hr & 8hr
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Can't recordJuly 5, 2013
by Steve from Milpitas, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I can't record from different channels
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
DVR620 DISAPPOINTING!!February 18, 2013
by CG from Hanover Ontariio
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
We bought the DVR620 specifically to transfer home VCR's to DVD's. We have followed the instructions to the "T' and it simply does not work. This product is not user friendly to the average person. It does play VCR's and DVD's without a problem but will not do what it is advertised to do. Can anyone tell us where we might be going wrong and if so, please post step by step instructions or tell me where to go to find them. This has been a very frustrating and expensive purchase.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
won't accept dual layer DVD+RFebruary 6, 2014
by Joseph from CT, USA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Tried to record using DVD+R, the machine went through the formating process, then gave me an error message. On another forum, I saw where someone stated that it won't accept dual layer DVD's. IF THIS IS THE CASE, IT SHOULD STATE SO IN THE MANUAL. If it weren't for the fact I can't find another similar machine anywhere it would go back. I will try single layer DVD+RW--if it doesn't work it goes back regardless. I remember when Toshiba stood for quality!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
WorthlessOctober 31, 2012
by tech user from Sacramento, CA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The dvd recorder is okay as long as you don't want to play the dvd on anything else. I tried every device in my house (regular dvd player, 3 different portable dvd players, a laptop and a desktop computer....no good. So I took a couple disks that were recorded on this machine (that play fine on this machine) to a large electronics store and tried everything they had, including different computers, no luck. Best beware.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Won't do VHS to DVD for family videosJanuary 6, 2013
by K from San Diego, CA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
We have tried everything and even brought in other tech savy people to help - could not get this unit to transfer our family VHS tapes to DVD video...so dissapointing. Well it does play DVDs or VHSs but that's not what we bought it for....
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
HorribleMarch 10, 2013
by emeug
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Was able to transfer about 8 or 9 VHS tapes to DVD and the VCR broke. This is a piece of junk.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very CheapMay 6, 2013
by jb from killeen, tx
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Cursor pops all over screen and takes out words
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Sorry no good.October 17, 2013
by TKQuilter from Lompoc, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Sound on VCR portion quit working after a couple weeks of use. Bummer. I wanted to transfer my VHS to DVD. Worked great for awhile then just fuzzy sound......
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Was Great Until Now!March 13, 2014
by Seeker For Something Better from Nashville TN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I've had the Toshiba D-VR 610 for less than a year. At first I thoroughly enjoyed the performance of the DVD Recorder but the vcr part never worked right because it occasionally ate up my tapes. I did not care anyway because I just lined in to record my vhs tapes anyway, no big deal. BUT NOW! I am outraged about my recording evils brought on by this machine. At first I was very impressed and delighted at the quality my recordings had. And now all of a sudden this thing keeps coming up to new types of ERRORS! And I can count about 5 different kinds. I never had this happen before and I've made about 50 dvds. When I record a program now sometimes, What happens is I'll be recording just fine for a few minutes and then I notice my counter returns back to zero. When that happens I can check my recording and it completely removes the prior recording! Often it also skips segments of 5 minutes or more through a program in any part of it. Sometimes it might get a whole program but leave off the first 10 minutes of it! Sometimes a big red error window appears on the screen and lastly sometimes I can write the recording just fine on the whole 6 to 8 hours of time just to realize that the cd will not finalize! I wanted people to be aware of this issue. I only use two brands of DVD-R cds to record with. Those being Maxell And Sony. At first I thought I got a bad batch of Maxell cds because they were continually affected but now my Sony cds are doing the same thing! I have wasted a lot of time as of lately and I've trashed dvds I worked so hard to produce. I'm going to buy myself a new recorder but I'll do more homework on reviews. One thing I can say is it will not be a Toshiba brand. Some errors are "Error E65c04030" and "Error 22". I can not finalize because the screen says "Can Not Record On This Disc! I think for the kind of money they ask on the recorder, it should do better than work for less than a year. The reason I'm angry is because once this machine started with errors, it got worse and worse very rapidly. I've run lens cleaner discs in it. Now I know it can't possibly be the cds I bought because I've never seen things made by Sony to fail me. If the problem was the laser lens then why is it only the recording feature fails? It plays movies fine! Also, a customer rep at Maxell told me I need to update the device... Say what? How Do I do that? I take very good care of my possessions. And this issue really should not be on me. The device is wonderful at first but later on I think you could lose a friend, to give it to him. I even dared to reset my options to factory default and there is no success. It's like all of a sudden, the recorder does not want to cooperate, very user unfriendly! So I'm done! Toshiba has great new features but the device has a lot of issues.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
User UNfriendlyDecember 27, 2013
by Brooklyn from Staten Island NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I purchased this VCR/DVD recorder in the hopes of transferring my VHS tapes to DVD. The 109 page manual does not have any instructions on how to simply transfer VHS to DVD. Not to mention that there are no "simple" instructions in the entire manual. I even attempted to copy video camera tapes to the DVD and spent 2 hours trying. Do Not even attempt to use this device unless you have a degree in technology. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS FOR THE AVERAGE PERSON. IT IS GOING BACK TO THE STORE!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NO Support for DVR620July 22, 2013
by Spaceman7 from Titusville, Fl
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
My simple dubbing from VCR to DVD is not working. I have been in and out of the User Guide. Up and down the WEB SITE. The user forum tips just replay what is in the user guide. There is NO CHAT session HELP. I have spent way too much time on this product Panasonic has a much better interface.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
JUNKMay 25, 2013
by FED UP from akron, oh
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
NOISY. S VIDEO DOESNT WORK. HDMI FAULT DISPLAY WHEN TRYING TO RECORD DVD OR VCR
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Useless VCRApril 17, 2013
by Bayquake from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
No problems on the DVD side and the upconvert looks really good. But the VCR has been chewing tapes after 1 year (just in time for the warranty to expire). The ONLY reason I bought this unit was to convert home videos and nearly all of them are ruined.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
poorly builtFebruary 7, 2013
by JJJ from Ft Worth, TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought the unit to have a second VHS unit at the house. I had played 3 hours of tape when the unit failed, eating tape after tape. My decade old metal VHS machine is still running fine. Missed the deadline on returning to the store and have had to ship to CA. When it arrives I will be able to order a replacement unit which will take another week or so to arrive back here. Definitely unhappy. The whole unit seems fragile beyond belief. Did not even reach the point of trying to record anything.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder
Averages based on 27 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 2.3 out of 5
Features: 2.4 out of 5
Performance: 2.1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2.6 out of 5
9 of 27 (33%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder - Write a Review Close  Close