Please wait...action in progress.
2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Images
IMAGES
 »

2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

Part Number: HDTB220XK3CA
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 9 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$179.99
Instant Savings:
-$80.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Toshiba Recommends:
Toshiba Portable Hard Drive Carrying Case ($17.99 value)
Save 50% for a limited time!
+$8.99
Total Price: $99.99
Offer expires 12/8/14
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 11/24/2014.
Learn More
2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive 2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Rated 1.5556/5 based on 9 customer reviews
$99.99 In stock
Product description: 2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love It, Love It, Love It!!!February 10, 2014
by Wixx from TX, USA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Small enough to mount anywhere, yet robust enought to Hold a small bit of data. I've got twa (a 1TB and A 2TB) mounted to the bracket on the back of my television, ran thru my laptop (also Toshiba and also mounted to my Television (of Course a Toshiba too)). It's like owning my own commercial-free television channel alwys commercial free and always showing just what I like to watch...Just can't wait to get more of these little hard drives. I figure an 8.5TB television is one pretty smart tv. Making Ya' jealous yet???
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Poor connection designJuly 10, 2014
by 613 from San Diego
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I gave this product two stars because I consider the drive to be of fair quality. It is not average quality or better. I've read other reviews which talk about the USB 3.0 not working correctly. I have found the USB 3.0 works perfectly. The issue I have is with the designed of the USB 3.0 connection port on the drive. The USB cable is extremely loose while connected to the drive. If you move or bump the drive while doing the transfer, then errors galore arrive on your screen. I like the size and look, just not the quality of the connection.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Can't do USB 3.0 on Win7.December 7, 2013
by SteveW from Auckland, New Zealand
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I just bought a "2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0" this afternoon. I'm connecting it to a PC running Win7 64-bit that has two USB 3.0 ports. The disk will happily work on a USB 2.0 port. But if it is plugged into a USB 3.0 port it will only remain powered on (blue light) until about 10 seconds after the Windows 7 boot logo appears. Then the blue light goes out, the white light flashes 4-5 times...and the drive shuts down. This is the first USB 3.0 drive I have bought....and it looks like I'm sorry I did.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dosn't WorkFebruary 13, 2014
by dave from detroit, mi
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought this to use as home backup. it worked for about 10 days perfectly. Now blue light won't come on and I get a white light that wont go out. There is no product support for this product. Not happy.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Cable broke after a month of useAugust 6, 2014
by lac from Minneapolis, MN
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I was unable to access the data after about a month of use. The blue light would come on yet the drive wasn't recognized on my system which indicated the drive was getting power. On a long shot I bought a new cable and that did the trick. Very poor quality cable!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Fails as USB 3.0 device.November 3, 2014
by JerseyDoc from Bellevue, WA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
AVOID THIS DEVICE, if you need a USB 3.0 drive! Purchased this external drive so that I can work on my projects when out of the office. When connected to a USB 2.0 port, it seems tow work fine. However, when connected to a USB 3.0 port, the device works horribly! I have three USB 3.0 devices (Desktop @ work, Desktop @ home and Lapotp). WHen on 3.0 the drive slows my machine to a crawl, soaking up all available CPU cycles whereby I cannot even use the mouse. When conected to my laptop, the device frequently resets and opens a new explorere window, as if it was just connected. Applications accessing the drive, frequently return a "file not found error". When connected to a USB 2.0 port, the device is slow, but seems to work correctly. Too late to return it, so, I am stuck with a USB 2.0 device, where I paid for a USB 3.0 device.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
New Laptop, same problem as everyone else hereJune 28, 2014
by teamterlingua from terlingua, tx
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This drive worked on my old laptop, now I got one with USB 3.0 and it no longer works....this was sold as USB 3.0, it's not.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Back up these driveMay 7, 2014
by Bill from Doha, Qatar
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Having had this for nearly a year the index file appears to have gone so showing no files even though there's about 50 films stored on it. unfortunately warrantee is in UK, I'm in middle east so it's either pay to get the data recovered or just buy a new drive that works
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Doesnt stay on for media server routerFebruary 6, 2014
by Shawn from Kansas City, Mo.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I purchased a Cisco ea6700 route with USB 3.0 ports. I was excited to use my toshiba drive as a home cloud backup server. The drive never stays on. It may stay on for an hour or so then it just shuts off. To make the drive work again, it must be unplugged/plugged back in.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Averages based on 9 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 1.6 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
1 of 9 (11%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

2.0TB Toshiba Canvio Basics 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Write a Review Close  Close