Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)

Part Number: HDWC130XK3J1
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 93 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$179.99
Instant Savings:
-$60.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $119.99
Offer expires 11/23/14
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 12/03/2014.
Learn More
Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black) Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)
Rated 1.28/5 based on 93 customer reviews
$119.99
Product description: Toshiba Canvio Desk Desktop External Hard Drive is easy to set up and is ideal for expanding your storage needs. This drive offers high capacity storage in a small compact design that saves your precious desk space.
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Runs greatJanuary 16, 2013
by jp from Calif
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Plugged it in started up computer. No problems (plug-n-play sure works better than 20 + years ago). Runs fast on my PC using the USB 3.0. I bought it to store photo's and seems fast to me. I have not done any back-up with it yet but will soon and I'll get back and update this review
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Good drive with the right hardwareFebruary 20, 2014
by WKT Comm Tech from Ottawa, Kansas 66067
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have enjoyed this drive as I use it to store mp4 files and play them back with no issues fast..... responsive... quiet.... I think that most of these issues are due to not having the right hardware in place to use this product...... the USB 3.0 card in my dell PC has a power port on it and that is plugged into the power supply of the PC and the Hard drive also has a power adapter.... I am looking forward to buying more of these drives as I like the speed and they are very space freindly
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard DriveJune 29, 2014
by srk from Orlando, FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The drive has been operating flawlessly for almost one year. Performs as expected with no troubles what-so-ever.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Easy InstallMarch 25, 2014
by HomeBusiness from Fort Worth, TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Running this for Time Machine on a Mac. Reformatted it per instructions and the install was easy. Fast and quiet.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Affordable fast storageAugust 27, 2013
by editor in the Rockies from Keystone, CO.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I edit a lot - and by that I mean almost every day, and I decided to try out USB3 with my MBP Retina laptop since it also has USB3. I purchased the 3TB Toshiba drive and put it through a very serious project; 3 day long-format records with two XDCAM cameras plus slides - some of the media was recorded to AJA KiPro in ProRes 422 and all of the media went to this drive as FCP Events and all the FCP Project Files as well - this drive has not failed. The editing went on (and on) for over three weeks and everything has been fine.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Died a little after a power outage...May 17, 2013
by Traid from PEI, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I loved my 3TB Hard Drive, and it was working 100% fine. Though, I had a power outage, and my computer restarted. The drive was working fine for a day after the power outage, but then it just stopped working. I don't know whether the outage had anything to do with it, but now it is not a recognizable USB device.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
NOT compatible with Windows 7January 2, 2014
by andrabr from Foster City, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This is a drive with native 4096 byte sectors. According to Microsoft (and counter to the Toshiba box) it is NOT supported by Windows 7. Specifically, it is not supported by Windows native system backup. The model number DWC130 is not recognised by Toshiba support site either, so be ready to spend time on the phone for any little thing.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
An OK DriveOctober 23, 2013
by Kas from Tampa, FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Worked great for a long while, though I could trust it. I was wrong I ended up losing tons of data that cannot be recovered. Family Photos, Backups, Work data ALL GONE. Not worth the price.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Very BadAugust 13, 2014
by Ymer from Holland
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Why its always disconnecteddddddddddddddd..?
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Nervous in FloridaNovember 1, 2014
by mac from Hollywood, FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I had to install a new driver for my USB3 external board. The old driver would go to sleep and I would have to unplug the drive and plug it in again to be recognized. New USB 3 driver solved that problem. I use Acronis for my backups not the software that came with the drive.Toshiba does not support this drive, DWC130. I plugged in the model number and Toshiba says this drive is not supported.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Drive failingOctober 3, 2014
by PJ from Sterling, VA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Purchased this drive to put movies, and pictures. Put all the stuff and consolidated pictures. Worked fine for a week, then table of contents got corrupted. Have tried fdisk to fix it, but no luck, looks like I lost most of the movies I had on it. Looking to salvage whatever I can and take it back to the store for return.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Problem with 3TB CanvioFebruary 1, 2014
by MaoDi from UAE
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
after a year, it does not turn on, took out the main and used another adapter and connected via USB, but no recovery SW can restore 3TB. I'm shocked, Help Before this disaster I had been satisfied from TOSHIBA
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
not so fastJanuary 1, 2013
by jd from NY
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I just bought this drive and every time I use it for backing up my files the drive keep on disconnect and reconnect periodically and resulting in backup software error.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Slow - I am not impressedJanuary 25, 2013
by RT from Columbus, OH
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Purchased to replaced my Acomadata 1TB Esata drive. This Toshiba drive is slow - not much different than a USB 2.0. I am considering returning it and getting another Acomdata, if they still sell them
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
3TB Hard Drive failedFebruary 4, 2013
by Jeff from Minnesota
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
After two weeks of use the drive failed. Makes only a clicking sound now. Lost a bunch of video files that can't be replaced. Not happy.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not HappyFebruary 12, 2013
by action21 from KY
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
loaded 899K of music. When I went to use it drive has clicking sound only. Did not even get 24 hours of use.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Died in 5 minutesMarch 19, 2013
by Thumper315 from Central, NY
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Plugged in unit, PC recognized and I tried a quick copy to test speed. Drive started clicking after about 50MB copied.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
JumkApril 18, 2013
by guru from Earth
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Died after 90 days. Junk.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Another clicking failureMay 9, 2013
by Brad56
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Used the drive with no major issues for a few months at home. Then one day while reading content drive started clicking and is no longer accessible. Checked reviews and found that this is a very common failure.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
9 months, 1T goneAugust 5, 2013
by ruffy01 from Auburn, Me
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
lasted 9 months, stopped being accesible with 1T of my data.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Complete Failure, Do not purchaseJuly 31, 2013
by Tom from Ventura Ca.
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
After 3 months of very buggy operation, cable was bad just touching it would fail instantly. I Bought a new cable and unit is now failing every few seconds. Reset all power dozens of times. No Joy here ! I have the same complaint as everyone else, total failure to be recognized in the middle of backups and copying files. With all of these common complaints, why have these not been recalled ?
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Didn't even work right out of the boxJuly 28, 2013
by Rus from Denver, CO
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Purchased at microcenter and the sales person said it was one of the best drives. Got it home and plugged it in and nothing worked at all. How do you let such a horrible product slip past R&D and quality control?
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Too good to be trueJuly 20, 2013
by DDRsi
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought 3TB drive in Jan 2013, unit worked well for 5 months, now unit is not recognized any more. Lost about 1TB of data.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
USB keep losing connection and died in 6 monthsJuly 6, 2013
by Robert from San Francisco, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
USB keep losing connection and died in 6 months. I found out Toshiba used cheap USB cable. HD started clickling in 6 months. 3 TB data gone.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Crashed and Burned after a few monthsJune 28, 2013
by Robmet from VA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The 3TB external hard drive stopped working a few months after purchase; so much for a safe backup alternative
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Poor qualityJune 24, 2013
by Jen from NJ - USA, Paris - France
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Purchased the unit in Feb 2013, in June the unit started clicking sounds, then the PC could no longer recognise the USB drive. Lost tons of data, ~500gigs of data, mostly music and video. Tried Toshiba online, typed in the serial number, part number, whatever the numbers that I could find on the unit, none of them can be recognised the Toshiba online. Very disappointing. Purchased the unit in US while I was there, and now I moved to France, so now I need to ship the item all the way back to the US in order to get a replacement, or a coupon. No service locally in France. Unbelivable.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
horrible!June 5, 2013
by angry from Cassville, mo
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Was to be used as business use to back up Quickbooks files and now cannot retrieve files. Do not recommend this product. Had hard drive for less then 2 weeks.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Never AgainJune 3, 2013
by Cape Cod Geek from Cape Cod, MA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Purchased in Feb, got the click of death in May
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't keep any thing important on it!November 29, 2013
by RickB from Paso Robles, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Large and fast but unreliable. Failure within 90 days of installation due to temperature issues or bad electronics.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Ever!November 16, 2013
by CHECKYESORNO from CASTLE ROCK, CO
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Spent hours saving old photos now cannot retrieve.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Often Not Recognized by ComputerNovember 16, 2013
by js from Tennessee
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This could be a good product, except for the problem of it not being recognized after I shutdown and restart my computer. The computer seems to think the drive is not formatted at this point. After ejecting the drive, disconnecting the USB cable, and reconnecting it, the drive is properly seen and the files stored on it are available. This is not acceptable for a drive intended for automatic update use. (New Lenovo Desktop Ideacentre with i5 processor and running Windows 8.1)
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Terrible driveNovember 12, 2013
by Plane Dr from TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Had this 9 months and it cratered. Luckily I recovered my data but that cost me as much as the drive. I have 4-5 year old seagates that run all the time. Very disappointed, I guess that explains the good deal...
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't Waste Your Money!November 10, 2013
by GRGary from Grand Rapids, MI
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Worked great for 2 months then no longer mountable in windows. Lost all my data!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Cannot find support informationNovember 10, 2013
by upset
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
your support database needs to be updated for this product. when entering the part number (HDWC130XK3J1) listed when you search for this product a message tells you to enter a valid part number. I can go to several websites and order a drive with this part number, why is it not in your support data base. Is it bad product that you don't want to support?
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Absolutely THE WORST hard drive I've EVER usedNovember 6, 2013
by donholm2 from Robinson, IL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The hard drive I purchased is absolutely incapable of storing anything for any amount of time. If power is lost the drive WILL blank itself out and have to be reformatted. I've lost 500+ gig of data on three separate occasions due to this issue. The only reason this drive got one star is the system would not allow me to give it zero.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
failNovember 5, 2013
by hager from sweden
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
never got it to work at all, got in unformated with no drivers or anything installed / not working. no manual along with the Product. sorry for poor English.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Reliability = 0November 3, 2013
by Bobby from Pittsburgh, PA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
As expected, never buy on impulse and always search reviews on external USB HD's. This one had a rap sheet of failures (I gave it the benefit of the doubt), but bad blocks and clicking appeared after barely 2 months of usage. I am better of with a NAS.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst storage product, don't buyFebruary 25, 2014
by Weezy from Lapeer, Michigan
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Plugged it in and was fine for just under 3 months. Then was not able to access the info. Lost a lot of info.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
drive failed 3 months oldFebruary 21, 2014
by murkle
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
worked great for about 90 days. died
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
sorry !!!February 19, 2014
by hiram bustamante from el paso tx.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
sorry to have invested in this product , lost all files on it after just a month in use ,ive use the portable toshiba hard drive and its excelent so was expecting same quality for this 3tb ,now after reading reviews found out im not the only one not liking this product , even the 2tb has better reviews than this one ,dissponted in this product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
garbage can is better storageFebruary 19, 2014
by kprimm from allen park, mi
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Had this drive for 2 months and now won't recognize drive. Will not buy another Toshiba product. Total garbage drive.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Didn't last a monthFebruary 19, 2014
by Calrod from Dallas, Tx
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Easy setup, able to switch between machines easy. I purchased this product so that I could store my families picture on it and share between members. My girl friends father had a stokes a few months back and over the years a amassed a collection of 35mm slides dating back to his years in the Military in the 50's. Along with pictures of their childhoods and travels. Two weeks straight I did nothing but convert slides into digital pictures and then today I hear a clicking sound. I knew that sound and was hoping it was one of the older external drives I had connected to the computer. No such luck my new less that a month old Toshiba 3TB had crashed with all my work gone! Not happy! Contacted technical support and I was advised to replace the drive, just that simple! Really?? just replace the drive, what a simple solution! is there another brand you would recommend that I could feel confident with?
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Horrible DeviceFebruary 13, 2014
by cap60552 from Somonauk, IL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I had the drive for 5 days, and it has already failed. I had copied all of my photos, video, and music to it. DO NOT BUY THIS DRIVE
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Second TB hard drive to fail in short timeFebruary 7, 2014
by Snow Bird from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I intended to transfer all valued photos to this hard drive, but it failed. What is interesting is that I have several external drives.. several YEARS old and under 500 GB. I've purchased two 3 TB hard drives now and both failed. The warranty is for the machine but not for the information lost. Do not put anything of value on this drive unless you have it backed up at least once on something else.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Drive failed within a monthFebruary 2, 2014
by Not happy with Toshiba Canvio 3 TB from Frisco, TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Really really bad piece of equipment. The P/N for this drive (HDWC130XK3J1) is apparently not even listed in Toshiba's database of part numbers because when I search for this part number I receive a generic "this part does not exist" error. I did notice that this drive happens to be made in China, not sure if that is significant or not.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NoJanuary 26, 2014
by Kflem
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I got it for Christmas, and after I had transferred my data from my other externals and tried watching media from it it continuously disconnects and reconnects interrupting the media. It WORKS yes, but how is a brand new hard drive constantly disconnecting from my laptop? There are no issues like this with my other drives. It's incredibly annoying having my media interrupted every 5 minutes and having my media player skip and freeze before going to the next item in the playlist, so I have to restart and fast forward each episode or movie to get to where I left off.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
poor choiceNovember 8, 2014
by Steve from Houston, TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
no even one month of use, this external is flagging as failing!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
NEVER AGAIN!!!June 24, 2014
by Rod from Baton Rouge, LA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I purchased a Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive Part Number: HDWC130XK3J for less than a month and I transferred ALL of my music and movies to it. NOW IT QUIT WORKING.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stay Away From This Product!June 12, 2014
by TreeGuy from Peterborough On
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Constantly disconnects, no support or help available. Best used as a doorstop but please do not use for valuable files. A 100% garbage product and the last Toshiba product I will ever buy
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
More connection problems under Windows 8.1May 21, 2014
by Cowboy from Thailand
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This drive worked reliably with a powered USB 3.0 hub under Windows7 with SP 1. Under Windows 8.1 it either doesn't appear at all when connected, or has to be disconnected and reconnected and will *sometimes* be recognized correctly by the O/S.. It's likely this drive is in need of a more compatible USB 3.0 driver, or a firmware update. Until this connectivity problem is resolved, I would not recommend this drive for reliable backup under Windows 8 or 8.1 Other external and internal Toshiba drives I've used in the past have been much more reliable than this particular drive.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
A possible solution would be ditching the enclosurMay 13, 2014
by Jeff Lebowski from Lisbon, Portugal
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
A possible solution would be ditching the enclosure and using it as a standard internal drive. Maybe that way it won't suddenly make your partitions disappear... I'm almost definitely going to try that because it's the 3rd time now that a partition disappears and the disk goes offline the only option available being creating a new volume and partition.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Keeps freezing/going offlineMay 2, 2014
by RC
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I keep having to unplug the power then replug it to get it to read in Windows. I see there's several other reviewers here complaining about the same problem. But the real issue, to me, is the fact that when you try to go to Toshiba Support's webpage and enter the model number, it claims there is no such model. I have seen that complaint on various forums around the web also, so I'm not typing it in wrong. Toshiba simply doesn't support this drive!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst drive i own...April 28, 2014
by m from NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
i use on 2 different computers... windows XP and windows 7 - both with USB3 connection USB keep losing connection... takes a long time to initially read data on 'my computer' (like it's asleep) on PC power reboot, drive does not work until you unplug it and plug it back in (power cable or USB 3 cable) NO OTHER DRIVES I OWN does this...
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
April 25, 2014
by fred from Abu Dhabi
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
It has never performed against its specification: - cable poor connection - mass transfers regulalrly break -transfer rates little better than USB 2 - mass failure after 12 months is really unacceptable against modern standards
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
It's so unreliable I can only use it for backupsApril 23, 2014
by Jeff Lebowski from Lisbon, Portugal
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I have lost all the data on this 3 TB drive 2 times already. I thought the first time had been a freak error or something but now it happened again. The partition just disappeared, same as the 1st time. I'm left with unallocated space and a Windows-disabled disk. Partition recovery was unsuccessful since I had my data encrypted. All that's left to do is reinitialize the drive again, format and use it for backups only. I will never trust it again with data that's not also elsewhere.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Failed after less than 2 monthsApril 17, 2014
by Phil C from San Marcos, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Less than 2 months old and now when I plug it in the computer it says "disk is not readable". Completely reformatted the drive, it worked for like 30 minutes but now I still get that error.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
oshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard DriveSeptember 27, 2014
by Teacher
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This product disconnects constantly. It will not stay plugged in and have in tried using glue dots on the very edge to try to make it stay put. Very disappointed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stopped WorkingJuly 31, 2014
by Richthof from Santiago, Chile.
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
After around one and a half year of very little use, the hard drive stopped working. Now I am trying to know what happend. I hope it can be fixed.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
do not buy or use- even if freeJuly 18, 2014
by jimmy
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought this, loaded it up. Stopped working and was told I would have to pay to get info off and then they would send me another. So many people have this problem with this. Biggest waste ever.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
never buy again Toshiba productJuly 18, 2014
by kurvatis
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
clicking noise, clicking noise, clicking noise, clicking noise, clicking noise... dead
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
short life spamJuly 5, 2014
by dzon from spring tx
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
minds stop working after 6 months, photo mp3 ,mp4, avi , files only 2.20tb use, them clicking noise, all data lost. disk are good,pc board damage. maybe find a cheep one just to save data files.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
waste of money!!!June 26, 2014
by shaneo180 from colorado springs co
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bad drive word for one week then started beeping. Buy something else.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Complete failureApril 15, 2014
by Lexington from lexington, ky
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Drive failed, clicking noise, complete loss of data. Terrible Product.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
WHY DID I BUY THIS BRICKApril 2, 2014
by WILDMAN OF WEST TENNESSEE from JACKSON TENNESSEE
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I ADMIT IT I BOUGHT THIS THINKING IT WAS GOING TO BE A GOOD INVESTMENT, NOTHING COULD BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH, NOT HAVING IT FOR LESS THAN A MONTH AND HAVING USED IT FOR MAYBE 5 DAYS OUT OF THE TIME IVE HAD THE "BRICK" IM SORELY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PRODUCT,LINE,. AND COMPANY, WILL I EVER BUY ANOTHER ONE NOT JUST NO BUT ABSOLUTELY NO
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worked for 1 monthMarch 18, 2014
by MRL357 from McLean, VA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Excited when I got this as it would allow me to reduce all my scattered files to one location. Worked great on laptop with Win 8.1, did great on desktop with Win 7. About 1 month later when I tried to retrieve files, nothing works....has been stored properly so have no clue why this problem
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
JunkMarch 18, 2014
by Ger from cleveland ohio
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I bought this due to the size of the hard drive. Never had a Toshiba product before. Plugged it in a presto worked perfect. Loaded up over 200 movies into the drive then took it home and plugged it in and nothing. Dead drive with all my movies gone and a week and a half of work wasted. Angry is an understatement.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Keeps losing partitionMarch 16, 2014
by mhphotos from Birmingham, AL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I am rebuilding my new HD for the 4th or 5th time now. I have had the HD now for about 3 weeks. The first day, I got it, I plugged it in and there were no diagnostic files on the HD as the packaging stated. So I proceeded to format the drive as I have many drives before. I got everything set, but when I rebooted my computer, I found the drive was gone. So I re-started and reformatted the drive. This time, after rebooting, the drive remained. I loaded all my files, and thought I was completed. Over the night, the computer automatically updated and rebooted. Again the drive was gone. I tried many things to recover but could not find a viable solution. I reformatted and rebuilt all the files again. It ran for a couple of days and when I rebooted, it lost the partition again. Getting frustrated, I rebuilt it again, and this time, it has been running OK for a couple of weeks. But when I came in this afternoon, the computer was locked and I rebooted. And now, my partition on the HD is gone again. I am a photographer and using this file as storage for my production workflow. I have a backup of the important files and do not want to nor have the time to rebuild this HD ever couple of weeks. I also have worked in computers for many years and expected more from Toshiba product quality.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not worth it. Wont buy a toshiba againMarch 15, 2014
by Squak from portlad, or
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I bought this hard drive about a year and a half ago. Ever since buying it, it has been a very hit or miss had drive. I actually returned the first one because it didn't work, got it replaced with the same model. This one works, buy half the time I need to unplug the hard drive and restart it. I have finally decided that I am backing up all of my photos on this hard drive and its going into the closet. (dont worry my photos are also backed up on 3 other hard drives) Ive also been having this weird problem with my computer going to sleep.... sometimes it wont wake back up. push the button all I want and nothing happens. Have to turn off the power strip and reboot the computer completely. So it turns out, now that I'm not using this hard drive, the problem has gone away completely. Go figure. How can a company like toshiba release a product like this. I know that I am going to buy hards drives from an actual hard drive manufacturer from now on. Also, to top it all off. when I try and go to the toshiba website for support. It seams to think my model doesnt exist when I put in the part # or serial #. I had to have google find this page for me
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't buy itMarch 10, 2014
by TweetyRF from Caminha, Portugal
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I am using this HDD for less then 3 months and today it is dead. I plug the hard drive and it shows no leds, nothing. I'm trying to figure out a way to recover my lost files. I bought this to replace my old HDD, which never failed in more than 2 years of use.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst External drive Ever!March 2, 2014
by Onabru from Riachos, Portugal
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I buy this Toshiba 3TB Canvio, and after a month, I lost all my data on it. 1,5 TB backup of all my works, as gone.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
This is a terrible productJanuary 19, 2014
by Rickamortis
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I received a toshiba Canvio Desk for Christmas. It was working fine; however, today it stopped working right. It shows up that a device is hooked up, but it won't say toshiba. I click on it and windows explorer has to restart. It starts making my entire computer go haywire. My firefox wont load, my norton anti-virus stops working right. It's like it came with a virus or something. I'm extremely upset because I lost quite a bit of things. This device is a danger to my computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bought 2, 1 dead after 2 weeksJanuary 7, 2014
by karioth from Japan
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I bought 2 and 1 died after 2 weeks. I'm not sure if it's clicking or not, but I tried a known working USB cable from another drive and no-joy. It shows up in Windows 8.1 Disk Manager but the drive cannot be accessed. Looking at other reviews on here, seems this is a wide-spread issue. I'll be returning both drives, first experience with a Toshiba product and I'm not impressed. In fact, I'm in the process of copying my data off the still good drive before that dies too.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Clicks, Beeps and UnrecognizedDecember 30, 2013
by Dez from New York, NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
After about a month of usage it crashed and all my data was wiped. I reformatted the drive and it worked poorly for a few days. Then the drive started making a clicking noise, occasionally a beeping noise and then my PC would not recognize the drive. It shows up under device manager as USB Mass Storage Device but with an error. I tried every conceivable fix but nothing worked. It's a useless paper weight.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very PoorDecember 25, 2013
by edb250 from Chula Vista, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Just bought this not even a full day took it straight out the box and when I plugged the USB cable to my laptop nothing happened I didn't get the usual pop up for another file explorer window whenever I plug in an external hard drive, couldn't hear the hardrive spin and no blinking led light from the drive. Finally I tried a different usb cable from another external hardrive from another company and I have a galaxy note 3 with a usb 3.0 cable also, and both of those cables, when plugged to the drive, actually got the hardrive working. Long story short, out of the box, defective usb cable, may have to return this because I am not confident it will last the 3 year warranty. Laptop is an ASUS ROG G75 VW, running Windows 8.1 with all the latest drivers, ALL usb ports are 3.0.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Should listen to reviews terrible, broke quicklyDecember 23, 2013
by NolanCorey from Buffalo, NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I received the drive hoping the reviews were off or the user is, but no this device before dust could settle on it breaks internally leaving me trying to figure a way to get data back...... for the love of God pls. let them do right by me either put data on the drives I am going to replace this sub-par with. Shipping is all on me even when I ordered it first time no driver, paid to have it sent back.. recvd new one seemed fine till today now its dead with my data trapped.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Very Expensive Data Recovery...December 16, 2013
by Conversion Geek
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This hard drive died after a few months which left us up a creek (we're a video production firm). Now we're looking at spending another $500 to $2k on emergency data recovery. Bottom-line I would NOT recommend
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst everDecember 11, 2013
by citizen from Australia
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
1st time I moved it, it died, hours down the drain and loss of movies and photo's.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Lousy hard drive, dies within monthsDecember 5, 2013
by dataman from dataland
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Lasted a handful of months before completely dying. Unacceptable.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
3TB External Hard DriveOctober 16, 2013
by Sven from Tampa, Florida
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Not especially thrilled with this product. Product broke and stopped working about a month after purchase.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
October 16, 2013
by panama from pensacola fl
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
worst product ever. I've owned for less then three months and it died.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Canvio External Hard Drive, Desktop 3 TBOctober 15, 2013
by TexasBluebonnet from Marble Falls, TX
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I plugged in the Toshiba Desktop External Hard Drive Canvio Desk 3 TB, & the application loaded after it was plugged into the USB port. I transferred numerous files, programs, photos, etc. onto the external hard drive and left it plugged in so further files could be transferred. Now, I cannot use the External Hard Drive as my computer can no longer find it. Toshiba site does not even have the 3 TB hard drive listed, so no drivers can be downloaded!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
portable hard driveOctober 4, 2013
by lete from UT
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
OMG I just bought this 3Tb external hard drive...it was just die...I only used it for 3 month....its have a click sound...and my computer does not recognize it pls help ...I lost everything now.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
defective harddriveOctober 2, 2013
by billybob from wright, wy
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I should of read the reviews after 6 months the drive started making a clicking noise and would not communicate with my laptop it sounds like a design defect
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DISASTERSeptember 16, 2013
by June from Eagle Point, Or
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
After an unexpected computer shutdown, this toshiba drive suddenly said I had to reformat. It took about 6 1/2 days to reformat it! When I got the message that the format was complete, and checked that it showed up in windows explorer, I unplugged it, rebooted the computer out of safe mode and into regular mode. I replugged the Toshiba drive and now it's telling me it has to be formatted! AARGH. This is a disaster. PS: It won't format using quick format in my Windows 7 professional. This is a totally useless unit.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
JunkSeptember 3, 2013
by Momtotwoprincesses from New York
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I got this external hard-drive 60 days ago, as I needed more storage for my pictures. Well today it started clicking and my computer does not recognize the hard-drive. I have Carbinite as a back-up source, and now I only have 30 days to get this piece of junk fixed or my files will be gone.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Piece of Guess What . . .August 27, 2013
by DesignCentral from Atlanta, GA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Drive died while backing up the first folder to it for storage and never worked again. After reading the other reviews I'm glad it did die before I lost several years worth of information. I had to give one star to have the review posted but it should be -10.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
bad technology, no ready to marketMay 15, 2013
by Morato from Tampa, Florida
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I use Toshiba Products for years and is the first time I have a nightmare, no recomended, no work right, I lose hrs hrs trying to fix it. urprised that the company relese this product to sale. returned and buy diferent. conclusion: DO NOT WORK RIGHT, amateur product, Sorry, bad name for a great company.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Simplicity seeking online assistance from ToshibaMay 8, 2013
by Simple
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Finding HD assistance on the Toshiba home page should be simple, direct and easly understood.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Fails to copy Large FilesApril 15, 2013
by Lowcarb from Lagrangeville, NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I bought this drive to make copies of my hard drive image files. This are large files. This drive fails when trying to write large files every time. Same issues as reported by Disappointed in Raleigh, NC so this must be a design defect in these.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
hard driveMarch 4, 2013
by dommale3435 from Charleston sc
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
bought hard drive on a sat and started transfer Movies to it and getting a clicking noise in it after 300 gigs have been loaded on it. going to take it back to best buy and get a seagate which I never have had a problem with. this 3 tb hd is a piece of junk
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst HD Ever, 2 TB Lost.February 9, 2013
by Venger from NC
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
This was a much wanted & anticipated Christmas present from the Family. When put into service the unit seemed to power up and down often, we assumed this a energy save feature. The unit has been stationary on my desk in use with my laptop pc. Yesterday it just goes crazy, making loud head search clicks and then beeping. I tried everything to get this unit back up so I could pull my pictures, video, etc off of it! Years of data gone! I would reccomend everyone stay away from this unit! Thank you.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
serioius problems with this driveJanuary 31, 2013
by Disappointed from Raleigh NC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
It frequently fails copying big files, especially over USB 3. It is faster (that's right, faster than USB 3) and more reliable over USB 2 but still fails. Windows disk utilities can't deal with the drive - they hang up. It's quickest just to force a shutdown, unplug the drive, and hope for the best when you reboot. Where are the utilities? Where are the driver updates? This is my first bad experience with Toshiba and I've used lots of their products. I'm really surprised.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
False SizeJanuary 4, 2013
by Sunnendei from Grand Island, Nebraska
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this under the impression that it was a 3 Tb HDD. Most External Hard Drives are usually a little shorter than what they are posted as, but this drive is only 2.72 Tb. It should be advertised as 2.75 TB not 3Tb. Extremely fast transfer rate and reliable.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)
Averages based on 100 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 1.3 out of 5
Features: 1.6 out of 5
Performance: 1.6 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2.2 out of 5
5 of 100 (5%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba 3TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black) - Write a Review Close  Close