Please wait...action in progress.

holiday return policy:

Purchases made through Toshiba Direct from November 28, 2014 through December 24, 2014 are eligible for return or exchange through January 15, 2015. Products, including laptops, netbooks, tablets, desktops, TV lamps, and accessories (batteries, remotes, Power adapters, etc), except those products specifically named as 'final sale' on the www.toshiba.com/us website, are eligible for refund or replacement. TAIS will not issue an RMA for a visual product to be returned for credit. All products eligible for return require a Return Material Authorization (RMA) number, which may be requested by calling 1-800-618-4444. To be considered for the holiday return period, an RMA request must be made no later than January 15, 2015 and all products qualified for return must be returned to TAIS within ten (10) days of customer receipt of the RMA number. The maximum TAIS will refund for items purchased through TAIS is the original purchase price of the product, less restocking fee, plus any related taxes. Original shipping and handling charges or similar fees and return shipping charges are not refundable. Returns made without an RMA number will be refused or returned to the Customer. All products with valid RMA authorization must be returned in original packaging and be in the same condition as Customer received them. Customer is responsible for shipping charges and risk of loss on all return shipments. Customer must use a reputable shipping carrier capable of providing proof of delivery, as well as properly packing and fully insuring the return shipment. Upon receipt of the returned product(s), TAIS will inspect the product to determine if the product has been opened, used, and whether it contains all parts included with the original shipment, and to confirm there was no modification, abuse or misuse of the product, or user negligence. TAIS may reject the return or deduct costs associated with: open packaging, missing parts, non original packaging, modification, abuse, misuse of the product or user negligence. While TAIS may issue an RMA for individual software packages represented by Customer as unopened, upon receipt and inspection any open packages will not be accepted for return/credit and will be returned to Customer.
Toshiba 1TB Canvio® Slim II Portable External Hard Drive for PCs - Black
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba 1TB Canvio® Slim II Portable External Hard Drive for PCs - Black

Part Number: HDTD210XK3E1
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 7 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$149.99
Instant Savings:
-$80.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $69.99
Offer expires 12/29/14
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 12/18/2014.
Learn More
Toshiba 1TB Canvio® Slim II Portable External Hard Drive for PCs - Black Toshiba 1TB Canvio® Slim II Portable External Hard Drive for PCs - Black
Rated 2.4286/5 based on 7 customer reviews
$69.99 In stock
Product description: Toshiba Canvio Slim II Portable External Hard Drive is ideal for taking your storage on the go. This drive offers high capacity storage in a slim and sleek brushed aluminum design that is a perfect companion for your Ultrabooks
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
The problem is the HDD Password toolFebruary 18, 2014
by Tony
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The problem is that you need to install the HDD password tool on to the computers you are using. This device is about security. I didn't realize at first either. However if you don't remember the password... it will mean you can never access the info unless you format the drive. It works well and looks sleek (I have the silver one).
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
HDD Password ToolFebruary 22, 2014
by RJ from Miami FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I discovered the solution tonight, and came here to update my review, only to find that Tony had posted the solution four days ago. (Thanks, Tony!) Connect the Canvio to the PC/laptop to which it was first connected > unlock the Canvio with your password then copy the 'HDD Password Tool for Windows Setup.exe' file to a memory stick > insert the memory stick and the Canvio into the second PC/laptop > find, and double-click to install the HDD Password Tool for Windows Setup.exe > follow the directions that will eventually lead you to the same password prompt to unlock the Canvio on your second computer. I changed my rating from 1-Star to 4-Stars, and held back on the 5-Star rating only because of the difficulty I experienced in using the drive on a different computer. This device should be plug-and-play, on any computer, once the correct password is entered.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Found the SolutionApril 23, 2014
by RJ from Miami, FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
"HDD Password Tool for Windows Setup.exe" is a pre-installed executable file that allows you to password-protect the Canvio. The Canvio drive will only work on the first PC or laptop where you run this executable file. To use the Canvio on any other PC/laptop, the PC/laptop needs this executable file, installed. You will need to copy the HDD Password Tool for Windows Setup.exe file, from the Canvio, to a memory stick, and run the file on all other PCs/laptops. In other words, once you password-protect the Canvio on the first PC/laptop, you cannot unlock it, on any other PC/laptop, unless you first run the executable file. If you do not care about the password-protect feature, and never install the executable file, the Canvio should work on any PC/laptop. I changed my rating from 1-Star to 4-Stars, after I found the solution. I would have rated it 5-Stars if I didn't have to solve the problem on my own.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Does Not Work As It Should...January 20, 2014
by PROJECT MANAGER from OREM, UT
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This drive worked on the first computer I plugged in to, and then would not work on any computers after that. I have read forum after forum, and several people out there have the same problem. I have opened disk management files, tried to partition it, but it keeps coming up with a "Cyclic Redundancy Error" and the drive will NOT show up on any other computer (I have tried 3 others). It is not a problem with mapping the drive, assigning a letter to the drive, or anything "simple" like that. There are no drivers available online, or files to download to help with support for this product. When I enter my serial number or model number into the Toshiba website, it tells me nothing is available, or I have an incorrect product. Bottom line: this product just doesn't work the way it is supposed to. I purchased it to combine several smaller internal hard drives onto this portable one, but it has ended up being a big disappointment.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Same Exact Problem!February 11, 2014
by RJ from Miami FL
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
I read the review by "PROJECT MANAGER" and I have exactly the same problem-- unable to initialize the hard drive on my second computer. The Toshiba website offers no drivers or support, and the website does not even recognize the part number or serial number of my Canvio.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Poor productMay 5, 2014
by heidicherokee from Michigan
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Very slow to fire up and makes noise. I have only used it 5 times and only got it about a month or so ago. Now, I just tried to access audio books I had stored there and had accessed yesterday. Now it says the file is empty. I will never consider "buying" a toshiba product again. The first external HD I had failed within 3 months and only 4 uses. Good customer service experience, but lousy products.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Not P&P as saidNovember 10, 2014
by Captn.Ken from Eastern, NC
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Item worked great on the first MacAir I connected to. Tried to connect to my MacBook Pro and my iMac and had no success with either one. Trying got use this HD to move photos from one Mac to another. Seems many people have this problem. If I cannot move files via this HD, it is fairly worthless to me.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba 1TB Canvio® Slim II Portable External Hard Drive for PCs - Black
Averages based on 7 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 2.4 out of 5
Features: 0.0 out of 5
Performance: 0.0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0.0 out of 5
3 of 7 (42%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba 1TB Canvio® Slim II Portable External Hard Drive for PCs - Black - Write a Review Close  Close