Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)

Part Number: HDWC120XK3J1
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 17 reviews  /  Write a review

 
List Price:
$139.99
Instant Savings:
-$49.00

Discount Shown in Shopping Cart

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Offer Expiration Date

This price is a limited-time offer and will expire on the date specified.

Please place your order before the expiration date to take advantage of this offer.

Some prices on Toshiba Direct are below Manufacturer's Suggested Price, so we are only able to show you the final price in the shopping cart.

Please add this product to your shopping cart to view the final savings and price.

Total Price: $90.99
Offer expires 4/28/14
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Estimated Ship Date from Toshiba is 05/08/2014.
Learn More
Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black) Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)
Rated 2.2222/5 based on 17 customer reviews
$90.99
Product description: Toshiba 2TB Canvio Desk Desktop External Hard Drive (Black/Black)
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Submit a Review»
Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
whateverJanuary 29, 2013
by Doofus
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
The shinny piano black plastic case is prone to getting fingerprints and impossible to open without damage. Out comes the dremel! I'm betting the hard drive is better than the case. We'll see. I recommended it because all my friends are frienimies.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Endorsed Hard Drive for Wii U...April 11, 2013
by Characterror4D1 from Little Rock, AR
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this drive because it is one of the recommended hard drives by Nintendo for the Wii U. I have had it for months and I have had no problems from it since having in it. I only bought it for the Wii U memory expansion (2 TB is the limit for Wii U, for now). It works for me. It might work for everyone else.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
very good BKup driveNovember 28, 2013
by chrish from IA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
been using this for over 10 weeks now, no problems with it at all.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
great productSeptember 8, 2013
by BananaJoe
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
i use this on the wiiu. i bought the white version for my white wiiu. it works perfectly. it really is plug in and play. no problems at all. matches wiiu perfectly too. even has same blue led. would recommend for sure and would buy again.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Excellent ValueJune 13, 2013
by T-Spot from San Francisco
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before purchasing the 2TB Canvio Disk. This was by far and away the best buy for value and $/data unit. Portable units only make sense if you need power by USB vs. a separate power supply. Portable units seem to be mostly built aroudn the laptop form factor so if you are putting the drive in your breifcase often then they make sense. One of the things that impressed me was that Toshiba makes there specs publicly available some of the other manufacturers
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Can't pick my own Cloud for backup?March 9, 2013
by mevl from BC, Canada
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I would like to use the Cloud space I already have, not purchase more from Toshiba! Setup was difficult - definitely not plug and play.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
No driver supportJanuary 4, 2013
by Hulk Hogan
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Crashes when copying lage files in Windows 8. Could we get some decent driver support or what? It's a 2TB drive, of course I'm going to be copying large files.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No security slot?December 8, 2012
by Disappointed from Minnesota
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Like all laptops, I expect all external hard drives to have a security slot so that by attaching a computer cable lock you can prevent someone from walking off with it. But apparently not this one! It's such an easy and extremely inexpensive thing to design into a product. I can't believe it doesn't have one.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Bad hard driveJanuary 25, 2014
by Userh from Chihuahua, Chih. Mexico
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
The first day I started using the hard drive I was heard to strange noises in certain occasions.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Nothing but a piece of junkApril 8, 2014
by Matefarmer from Charlotte NC
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Bought it and transferred all my files and took it overseas. Well, it just stopped working and I lost all my files. Simply DON'T BUY THIS!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Piece of junkDecember 7, 2013
by Ellisidile
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Worked for a few weeks, then nothing. Dead. I wasn't in the market for a paperweight. Avoid like the plague. My first Toshiba product. My last Toshiba product.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Died in 1 week.September 24, 2013
by Robert from San Francisco, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
Lost 2 TB of data. Hard drive started clicking non-stop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Died after 6 monthsJanuary 16, 2013
by freddiaschaffer from Valencia, CA
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
This unit was running just fine for a while on my Mac for my Time Machine back ups and then suddenly died. The drive could not be repaired. On the bright side, it is covered by warranty, but I had to pay for return shipping and all of the hard drives I am looking at to replace it have terrible ratings.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Died within a couple weeksFebruary 11, 2013
by nan from Rochester, NY
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
the thing died after a couple weeks. Totally crashed. No warranty available
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Dead when I bought itSeptember 23, 2013
by pedro_wakim
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Never could use, came with problem and there is no garantee at all or driver support.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?  
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
3 Days Fail and no warrantyJanuary 22, 2013
by Spy from canada
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Used for 3 days on my samsung TV as media center, then started doing clicking sounds and is no longuer recognized on media center or ps3. Recognized by laptop but useless now for the use I bought it for. Got to deal with warranty which part number says it's only a in-store system warranty. Being i had set it aside for more then 30 days I probably won't get any replacements. Go Lacie or western digital for eHDD.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No Apple DriversDecember 26, 2012
by meanuncledon from WA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I just purchased this from Best Buy and I am taking it back as the thing doesn't come with software or drivers which will work with Apple iOS. When I checked the website for drivers they don't have anything. I thought this was a good value but when something doesn't work it is just worthless. I would not buy this for anyone reason.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Was this review helpful to you?   Yes  No  (Report Inappropriate Review ) 
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black)
Averages based on 18 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 2.2 out of 5
Features: 2.1 out of 5
Performance: 1.9 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2.6 out of 5
5 of 18 (27%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba 2TB Canvio® Desktop External Hard Drive (Black) - Write a Review Close  Close