Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
One of the best laptops madeApril 15, 2013
by Sis from Grand Rapids, Michigan
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I replaced my past Toshiba laptop with a new one after using it for years. I was vacationing in Florida when this happened and I never hesitated to go right out and buy another Toshiba. I feel this laptop is perfect for me...is at a great price...and will do anything that I need to do with it. I like the keyboard and especially like the l5 inch size screen. I spend a lot of time on the computer reading emails, facebook, paying bills, etc. and I want a computer that I really can handle and yet afford. I would highly recommend this model Tashiba to anyone.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
EXCELLENT LAP TOP!April 19, 2013
by MORISSON from RIO DE JANEIRO, BRASIL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
IT'S BEATIFUL, VERY FAST AND I NEVER HAD PROBLEMS! I HAVE 3 TOSHIBA'S LAP TOP.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
great!April 25, 2013
by jeff from rhode island
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
better then most.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopApril 26, 2013
by thekaz2 from USA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great product, Startup process is the fastest I've ever seen.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Recommended!!April 21, 2013
by Lily from New Orleans, La
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
User friendly and does everything I need it to
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very good laptopApril 28, 2013
by fastfred from Las Vegas,NV
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Fast
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Overwhelmingly Happy With This LaptopMay 1, 2013
by Dottie from Durham, NC
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I am amazing at the wonder of this computer. It is fast, and I am a very happy camper!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
The laptop is exactly what I wantedMay 2, 2013
by Eddy8908 from Rockwood Mi 48173
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I really don't care for Windows 8 operating system it's like learning how to use windows all over again. Old versions of software are not compatible
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
best laptop i have hadMay 2, 2013
by happy from griffin ga
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
every thing exepted
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
fastMay 13, 2013
by reb0013 from north shore , ma
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great ValueMay 6, 2013
by Matt from Spring Valley Village, TX
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great value for the money. Exceptional display (a long historic Toshiba strong suit).
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
love the toshiba product lineMay 6, 2013
by old man from farmington,nm
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
very nice laptop. But don't like windows 8. might be ok on a touch screen. really need option for other window......
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Nice laptopMay 6, 2013
by Shar from Industry, PA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
When I purchased this - I kind of knew it was a good brand, but it is a really nice laptop and I am totally pleased owning it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
good lap topMay 4, 2013
by Dolly from Jacksonville, NC
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I purchased this lap top due to great price and I was shown how to use it. But still learning how to use it due to more stuff then my old one. I really like my Toshiba computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Wonderful laptopMay 2, 2013
by InfinityEternal from WV
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I purchased my Toshiba Satellite laptop mainly as a back-up computer for my big Asus gaming laptop, while it was being repaired. I have not really put the battery life to the test yet, but all other features seem top notch. It is fast and has plenty of storage space for programs, pics and such. It is light weight.. I wish the placement for the plug-ins for peripherals was a little better and possibly had one more USB, but that would be my only complaint. It came with Windows 8, which I like very much, but only after getting used to it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Laptop!!!May 1, 2013
by tabner from Florence, Alabama
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I love my computer! It is fast and just perfect for me. I do wish that the battery lasted a little longer though. I love it!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very goodApril 29, 2013
by margie from Saginaw,Mi
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I love the computer. It is pretty usre friendly for me a newbie. But I really really wish there was a actual paper user guide (instrution manual) with the purchase. I think for a newbie like myself it would be VERY helpful.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good Laptop Room for improvementMarch 29, 2013
by Andy from Burbank, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great for the price comes loaded with some good features. Problem be warned that creating recovery disks is a problem continuous errors while trying to create second recovery disk that in itself is a major disappointment.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Worth for the moneyApril 5, 2013
by J from Pleasanton, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
It is worth for the money. And the performance and clarity are really really good enough.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
good laptopApril 21, 2013
by alfonso from hartford
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Super fast faster then my old toshiba that i got yaers ago took a little to get used to win. 8. I downloaded a start button for desktop mode
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Not quite ready for windows 8 surveyApril 22, 2013
by drtrisha from SC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I was forced to purchase a new computer because my shell was broken and the cost to repair was over half of what I paid for a new one. The software I use for work with short cut have been hard to use, I would be satisfied with windows 7
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
goog laptop bad speakersApril 22, 2013
by golfbag from dayton,ohio
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I find the laptop easy to use for the most part. Windows 8 needs some work to make easier to use. The internal speakers are really, really poor. The sound quality is terrible and is impossible to listen to. Also the windows games are not included and they should be.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good for PriceAugust 12, 2013
by Wess from San Antonio, TX
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Excellent laptop for the money. Had a few bugs when new, but Toshiba software downloads seem to repair the issues. Always had good luck with Toshiba products. Seems this one too.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Love It!May 25, 2013
by Deelze
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
My son can't get enough of "my" laptop he is forever using it. This is how great a product it is... I am very happy with my purchase! The graphics, look and ease of use is another reason I love it.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Not User Friendly LaptopMay 9, 2013
by yes
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Too early to tell. I am experiencing problems but not certain if it is the computer? the operator? or Windows 8?
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Its Great!May 2, 2013
by Dinogirl
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I use this laptop mainly to play games and it works quite well for that. It does not lag very much and has never crashed on me, yet. I also really like the layout of the keyboard. Some laptops have small backspace keys, enter keys, etc. and since I rather not have to look whenever I try to press a key, I really enjoy using this laptop. Thank you! :)
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Very nice laptopMay 1, 2013
by Liz from Montclair, NJ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is a nice looking laptop with a nice screen. My only complaint is I can't work my way around the tiles with ease. They get in the way when I am looking for Outlook and word docs, for example. This is my 1st laptop, and my other computer was very old, so it may simply be my lack of experience with a newer system.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good LaptopApril 30, 2013
by unkrizzo from Las Vegas, NV
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I enjoy this laptop and would recommend this to a friend but I only have 2 issues with it. Number 1 is that the touch pad sometimes freezes up and I can't do anything for 5 minutes, then suddenly it works great. Only 1 time I had to shut the laptop down holding the power button. The other issue is that there isn't a scroll up/down slide option on the touch pad as well which isn't a big deal but I use that a lot when on the Internet. Otherwise everything else is fine, just getting used to Windows 8.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good value, poor speakersApril 28, 2013
by IlliniChief from Springfield, IL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Everything about this laptop has been great for me, except the speakers. The sound is very tinny and does not get loud enough. This was unfortunate for me because I no longer listen to music online due to the quality.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Easy to useApril 26, 2013
by Speedy from cHICAGO IL
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This laptop is a good laptop for just about anything. Only bad thing about it is the speakers. If it had better speakers I would give it an all around excellent rating
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Average LaptopApril 25, 2013
by Ted from San Jose, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is the third Satellite Toshiba laptop I've owned and the first time I've had issues with a Toshiba. I don't know if it's the frustration of having to deal with Windows 8 or if there is a problem with the computer itself. I've had it in for service once a week since I bought it a month ago.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
almost thereApril 20, 2013
by Socalgal from Loma Linda, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I really like the computer overall except for one thing... the speakers. The speakers are horrible. If you don't have headphones on the sound is really low and tinny. I would have liked to have been able to watch a movie without the headphones but I can't. Other than that I am very happy with my new computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
CaseApril 20, 2013
by None
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Overall, computer functions well, however, opening the case is a bit awkward. The first time I opened the case, I lifted the computer front off the surface.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Very good laptop with very good priceApril 19, 2013
by Apr from Glendale, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This laptop has a lot of features of my personal laptop that I have had for over a year. The features are there for all the function I need.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Decent for the moneyApril 18, 2013
by Spunky from Tucson, AZ
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Basically an average laptop at below average prices. I do experience an aggravating problem just about every day - I try to access the internet and I find I am no longer connected to my Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi is working fine, other computers and smartphones are on, but my Toshiba say "No Networks Available" in the Wi-Fi status. It runs a troubleshooting program which never finds the problem. I must restart my computer each time this happens, and when it is restarted it automatically connects to my Wi-Fi just fine and I am back in business. But frequent restarting is annoying.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Fair laptopApril 25, 2013
by Red from Albany NY
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
Basic laptop with the speakers are one of the worst speakers I've ever heard.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Good computer, bad WindowsMay 3, 2013
by Bosco
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is our second Satellite- t works fine except the Windows 8 came with no operating instructions. Very hard to learn that way. Also, the mouse pad directly under my right thumb is WAY too sensitive. It causes things on the screen to jump around and even be inadvertently be DELETED
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Pretty good laptopApril 29, 2013
by Mae from Dallas, TX
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This was a gift and I don't know that I would have picked it out myself, but I have decided to keep it. I love that it has a keypad and it is relatively lightweight for the size. A real downside is the inability to scroll. It just has the touch pad and I have done a lot to try to get the "wheel" features to work. I'm in the process of uninstalling and reinstalling the software...again. For the price and the fact that I'm not a heavy user I'll put up with it. However, between the scolling issues and Windows 8 I have wanted to pull my hair out a few times.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
Good laptop for the priceApril 22, 2013
by SJC from San Jose, CA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The touch pad is a bit quirky. It doesn't always work as expected.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
okApril 23, 2013
by gilly from londonderry nh 030353
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
seems to work good
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
laptop great, windows 8 not so goodApril 24, 2013
by rogmildo from Swanton, VT
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Really surprised that Toshiba does not include more information with their units. Nothing furnished for the new user to try and follow to get to know their new purchase. I can't even figure out how to print with this laptop so far!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Microsoft 8April 26, 2013
by Renie from Bastrop, La.
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
We hate Microsoft 8. Had we known, we would not have bought thisLaptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst laptop I have ever ownedApril 26, 2013
by Unhappy customer from Appleton, WI
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Windows 8 is garbage!!!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Way too many problemsApril 28, 2013
by Aclipse from Springfield, MO
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
I have only had this laptop for a few weeks and it is already giving me more problems then my past 3 year old computer. It has issues staying connected to the internet, Windows 8 was a bad choice for it since it isn't touch screened. It is slower then most computers in it;s price range. The video card has serious issues. The sound is very choppy if you listen from the computer itself. I use expensive studio headphones and even then it is only decent with them. By far it will was a bad purchase and won't even last a year I suggest saving your money for something better.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
L855 S5113 sucksJune 30, 2013
by JSP
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
I bought it few month before, one day the charging light starts blinking when i move to battery icon it says "plugged in not charging". i unplugged the charger and system instantly off. I did number of things recommended on Toshiba forum but nothing works. I also found on forum lot of people had this type problem with Toshiba.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst Laptop EverApril 28, 2013
by B from Vero Beach, FL
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Windows 8 is not designed for a non-touch screen. Using the keyboard mouse pad and other mouse devices causes stuff to fly on and off the screen uncontrollably. Very annoying.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba Satellite L855-S5113 Laptop
Averages based on 48 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.8 out of 5
Features: 3.7 out of 5
Performance: 3.9 out of 5
Battery Life: 4.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.1 out of 5
37 of 48 (77%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.