Please wait...action in progress.
Toshiba recommends Windows.
Sorry, Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop is not available for sale through Toshibadirect.com. But...
We sell Satellite U840 models that are similar:   
Satellite U840 Toshiba Satellite U840
Ultralight. Ultrabright.
Starting at: $432.00   Learn More
We sell batteries and other accessories for the Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop:   
Batteries S855-S5165 Laptop Batteries AC Adapters S855-S5165 Laptop AC Adapters Service Plans Service Plans Other Accessories Other Accessories
We can get you relevant technical support:   
Laptop Forums Product Updates Register Your Product
Downloads and Drivers Locate a Repair Center Technical Support Home
And we can give you details about the Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop:
Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop

  • Intel® Core™ i7-3630QM Processor
  • Windows 8
  • 12GB DDR3 1600MHz memory
  • Intel® Integrated Graphics
  • 1.0TB (5400 RPM, Serial ATA)
  • DVD-SuperMulti drive (+/-R double layer)
  • Wi-Fi® Wireless networking (802.11b/g/n)
  • No Bluetooth (No Antenna)
  • Premium US keyboard with 10-key pad (Black)
  • Touch pad pointing device with multi touch control
  • Li-Ion (48Wh, 6-Cell)
  • 1-USB (2.0) port with Sleep and Charge
  • 2-USB (3.0) ports
Intel® Core i7 Processor
Part Number: PSKFUU-0J700E
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 56 reviews

Want to look at similar models available for sale?
Learn More
Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop
Rated 3.8387/5 based on 56 customer reviews
Product description: Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Power House!April 23, 2013
by jimbob from seattle,wa
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Great computer for everyday use from school to work. The Core I7 and 12GB of RAM ensures fast speeds on multiple open apps and great for streaming video or music. 1TB HDD is more then enough for all my movies and music with lots of space left over for future downloads or programs. Bloatware is easily removed and Windows 8 is highly customizable so you get a computer that is you, not someone else.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent work machineApril 24, 2013
by pajo from NJ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This is a super fast machine with excellent wifi reception. Compared to older wifi machines in our house, this one takes the same 'low signal' as a 5 bar strong signal. 12 GB RAM with a fast processor does wonders when you're running the new Office Professional suite with 15 -20 windows open (Excel and Skype included in the mix) and NOTHING hangs or pauses. Talk about instant gratification. I heard that gaming isn't the thing with older versions of the S855, but I humbly suggest that they give this one, the 5165 iteration a try. I gave 4 stars for features and battery because honestly, I haven't run it on battery for more than 90 minutes (which used 15%) and haven't give the features a full work out. Windows 8 is a bit of a challenge at first but I got a hint from an IT person that you should hover over the corners of your screen. And in the start screen, a right click will allow you to access all applications (just like the old start button that used to live in the lower left corner). Not as intuitive as an i-thing, but you get the hang of it after a couple days.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Best LaptopMay 11, 2013
by Dorothy from Lakeview, Oregon
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have never had a Toshiba laptop or even used a Toshiba in the past. I love the ease of this laptop and the fastness. It loads in record time. My husband plans to buy a Toshiba when he has to replace his laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopMay 12, 2013
by Illiniette from Michigan
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Everything about this Toshiba Laptop is GREAT...except Windows 8. Hate windows 8, Love the laptop. Response time is excellent, graphics are crisp and clear. Keyboard is silent! Do not like the mouse pad, but by using my Logitech mouse there is no problem at all!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopMay 13, 2013
by bigran from Hawaii
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Loved the processer speed, 12 megs memory and Terabyte hard drive.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Outstanding value, performance!May 16, 2013
by Gary from Clearwater, FL
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I replaced my 4 year old Toshiba laptop with this new 2013 Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165. The performance and ease of use is out of sight. Just have to improve my usage of Win 8.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
GreatMay 19, 2013
by Marty from wilmington, NC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Windows 8 is confusing though. Also, I have no clue about battery life since I'm plugged in most of the time. You need an "N/A" selection too
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopMay 25, 2013
by Debbie from Warrington, PA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Can't beat this laptop's performance and features for the price. It's fast with 1TB HD space. Has all the features we were looking for in a laptop and more.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Laptop !June 1, 2013
by DaleG from Santa Rosa CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this Toshiba Satellite 855 laptop at the recommendation of a good friend about 2 months ago. Having been a Dell guy for years, I have been pleasantly surprised. I needed a powerful, but yet afforadble laptop that would handle multiple photo editing software programs. Excellent quality, easy to pack around when necessary, powerful and fast. It only took a day or two to get used to Windows 8. Great laptop - Great Value!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Dell is history after 10 yrs.July 21, 2013
by cjb del from fort washington Md
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
For ten years I've bought Dell desk tops and lap tops Toshiba runs rings around them.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
One of the best laptops I've ever hadJuly 5, 2013
by Alex from Fresno, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Nice laptop...only thing is that I tried to get some accesories online and the page kept asking me to enter my first name again and again when I had wrote it already...the next day I tried again and had no problems
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Quick with CS6July 1, 2013
by cHANCE from Woodland,CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought this laptop to edit full frame digital images in CS6 while away from home. It has worked effortlessly with the raw editor and multiple layers in CS6 proper. So far no regrets at all!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great Laptop!June 14, 2013
by Ms. Professor from Strongsville, OH
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This laptop is really fast. It takes very little time to get used to Windows 8.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Excellent productJune 10, 2013
by inHim from Sterling, VA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Setup was easy and fast. The graphics was excellent. I am very pleased with the performance of this laptop thus far.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very Happy with this Laptop!June 8, 2013
by Mizzred from Vancouver, WA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Lightweight, easy to use. Love the seperate 10 key
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Very Fast LaptopJune 2, 2013
by mlieber507 from NY
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I need a high speed computer for mathematical analysis and photoshop. My Satellite, based on the Intel I7-3630 and 12GB of RAM, fits my needs very well. The display is bright and has enough resolution to provide excellent photo display facilities. My only issue, and it is small, is that Win8 does not have quite as convenient a user interface as Win7. However, this has nothing to do with Toshiba.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopMay 28, 2013
by Nana of 3 from Millers Creek, NC
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Have had this laptop for 1 month now. The only problem I have had is learning to navigate Windows 8 as I have never used anything higher than Windows XP Home Edition. Have learned that to effectively use Windows 8 that you must use a mouse if you don't have a touch screen which is not indicated in computer information. For some reason, using the touchpad on the computer does not seem to work as well. Otherwise, would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a new one at a good value.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Superb Laptop!May 24, 2013
by Chuck Sr. from Dahlgren, VA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I have had several different brands of laptops, both personal and at work. The Toshiba I currently have is, by far, the best, most versatile laptop I have had to date. The wireless has zero delays, the memory and hard drive combined with the separate video make for smooth transitions between programs and operations. I can't say I am a large fan of Windows 8, but that doesn't seem to slow the Toshiba down, either.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great LaptopMay 17, 2013
by Gar from Casa Grande, AZ
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
So far this has been a great laptop. It is fast and has the features I was looking for.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Love my laptopMay 15, 2013
by Betty Boop from Crown Point, IN
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
It took me awhile to figure out the newer Window's version, but I love the fact it is fast and easy to use. I truly love this new laptop.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Fast & ReliableMay 13, 2013
by frankcal20 from Redondo Beach, CA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I've had this laptop for over a month. Yes it has Windows 8 and I knew going in that it was going to take some getting used to but for me, the computer itself works great. It's me not taking the time to figure out windows 8. I'm not going to knock Toshiba b/c this computer runs it - as does everyone else who's building new systems. I am able to work on several tasks all the while streaming video or audio without any flaws. Pages loan very fast and process run without any glitches so far. For the money, this is a GREAT computer. Just be prepared to learn a new operating system but you'll most likely have to anyways if you buy a new computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
New LaptopMay 11, 2013
by Boop from Las Vegas, Nevada
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I got this Toshiba Laptop because of the features and the speed of the processor. The only thing I did not like was Windows 8. That is not the fault of the laptop. After getting used to Windows 8 and having to call Microsoft to have them adjust a glitch in the software, I have not had any problems. Would recommend to anyone needing a fast computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good Equipment, Bad OSMay 4, 2013
by DM from Chandler, AZ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I purchased this laptop mainly for school, but I am also a long-time developer, network administrator, and heavy video processor. It does beautifully running Photoshop and Visual Studio concurrently, and is easy enough to use. I'll admit being weary of Windows 8 - I'm a Linux/Android lover and it just seemed like a skinned version of Windows 7. But to be honest, it was not that difficult to learn Windows 8. The main problem is that the laptop comes with Windows 8 and not Windows 8 Pro. There are many, many limitations on Windows 8 that are not listed when you purchase the laptop. For example, you cannot join a local domain (so if you've got networked computers, they will be unavailable unless running windows 7 or higher due to a lack of "homegroup" functionality in previous versions). The user account security cannot be completely disabled without breaking the Windows Store. You cannot execute unsigned scripts without booting into a special instance of Windows and then that script will only function until you restart again, so things like MagicDisk will never function properly. And if you're an administrator, you'll need another Remote Desktop solution because the built in one is disabled. That aside, the laptop functions beautifully. If you can, I'd recommend downgrading to Windows 7. It is rather unfortunate that they have chosen to ship their products with an inferior version of the OS, as the additional investment of Windows 8 Pro would have made this product a 10.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good computer looking bad!May 12, 2013
by jerry from spokane WA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
It's a great computer ruined by windows 8!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Got It All !!May 25, 2013
by Annie from Babylon NY
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I have shopped & shopped & researched & it all paid off .My Toshiba has it all at a very reasonable price .I am very happy with my laptop
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Win 8May 25, 2013
by saeng from idaho
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
First unit was dead, got a new one. Works well but Win 8 is a horrible product. The machine would be much better with 7.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
HmmmmmMay 15, 2013
by Rancher353 from Oregon
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
the machine is great..... the operating system is a pain, go back to a system that someone who isn't a social media junkie can be productive with.....get rid of the extra adds and continuous pop ups for products and extras.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Super desktop replacementMay 13, 2013
by Retired_Programmer from Twin Cities, MN
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I purchased this notebook as a replacement for my aging desktop system. Performance-wise, it seems more than up to that task. My only criticisms at this point is that it does have Windows 8 on it, it doesn't have Bluetooth support and there doesn't seem to be a good docking option. But, since it *was* purchased as a desktop replacement and will usually run Linux, those aren't too serious.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
ExcellentMay 13, 2013
by TI from Salinas
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Easy to use...quick boot.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
very good laptopMay 12, 2013
by jimbo from USA
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
review would have been better except the fact the laptop came with Windows 8 which is a very bad operating system for a computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good Laptop, Poor Version of WindowsMay 12, 2013
by pumpkin
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I appreciated the hardware, but the software was atrocious. I still have not been able to figure out how to effectively use the software (Windows 8). It has hampered my enjoyment and productivity. I would have not purchased the computer if I had known that I would have such trouble with the software.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good computer terrible operating systemMay 11, 2013
by bob from clemmons nc
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I like the Laptop. Windows 8 is an AWFUL operation system. VERY HARD to figure it out. May return my laptop and stay with my old computer.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great laptop for general computing!July 2, 2013
by mikk328i from Las Vegas, NV
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The Toshiba laptop I currently use is an excellent laptop PC for general use. I have owned a forgettable Sony laptop (I forget the model) and two (2) wretched HP laptops. This is the first laptop PC that makes laptop computing a reasonably confident experience. As said above, this is a great laptop for general, or everyday use. If one wants a more exacting and/or robust computing device for gaming, graphics or etc, purchase your computing hardware and its accompanying software appropriately. My only gripe about the laptop is the keyboard keys are not lit.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
OK LaptopJune 28, 2013
by Joanns4angels from Sacramento, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This laptop is ok. It is fairly difficult to figure out how to use and does not come with great instructions on how to use it. The computer would be fantatstic if it had better step-by-step instructions. This is my second one of the same type because the first one froze up and nothing worked on it. I returned it and got the same computer in hopes that it would be better. Still figuring things out. I am not happy with several things and that is what leads me to this conclusion.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
A good LaptopJune 19, 2013
by maccep325 from Paulden, AZ
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I would recommend this laptop to anyone looking for a new laptop. It is basically an easy laptop to use. The slider pad is a little too sensitive but otherwise it is a good laptop. The new Windows OS is a little difficulty to get used to but otherwise not bad.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
great laptop features for the priceJune 8, 2013
by T from Chicago,Il.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I love the burner for the same price of competitors with less tb and inferior processor.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
I need to learn windows 8!June 5, 2013
by new to laptops! from Ca.
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
I like the laptop with the exception of having to use the right side to get to the power to turn it off! This is my first laptop so I guess I need to adapt to the learning curve involved!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Solid Workhorse - So So BatteryJune 3, 2013
by PhotoDad from Illinois
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Only complaint is the battery life. Which is about 4 hours. Doesn't seem to be enough for me. Recharging is quick.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
GREAT LAPTOPMay 30, 2013
by Snorky from PORT ORCHARD, WA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
LOVE THE LAPTOP BUT NOT WINDOWS 8. THE ONLY THING THAT DID NOT WORK WAS THE TOSHIBA VIDEO PLAYER PROGRAM. IT IS FAST AND I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE LAPTOP ITSELF.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Sound IssuesMay 29, 2013
by Kbg from Essex, Vermont
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is a pretty good laptop. My only issue is that the sound is tinny and there is no way to modify the sound.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
windows 8 stinksMay 27, 2013
by granps from Niagara Falls,ON
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
the laptop is good but windows 8 is bad to big of a change from other windows products
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great Laptop!May 27, 2013
by Ma're from Huntsville, AL
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This laptop does everything I need for a small business. the only problem I have is when the fan comes on it feels like it is shocking me.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Good but could be GreatMay 26, 2013
by DaBask from Santa Cruz, Ca
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This is a top notch laptop. The only problem is the touch pad is a little off center to the left, so occasionally when typing the back of my hand will hit it and it moves the cursor. Great for work, play and music applications.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Toshiba Laptop for Linux usersMay 26, 2013
by hpc consultant from California
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This laptop came with Windows 8 installed. Since I am not a Windows user, I have partitioned the hard drive into two sections to install Ubuntu 13.04 on it. I looked at the Windows part only in the first week or so, but it is still there since I can dual boot it to windows any time. It works fine with Ubuntu. Only problem is my wireless connection is not as stable as I wish it should be. Many times, I have to reconnect wireless when it stops responding. May be the wireless driver needs some fix. I don't use for any fancy graphics work. So, I can't comment on it. I wish there is an option to buy laptops with just Linux or no OS on it if the price is going to be cheaper.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
May 5, 2013
by eagle from CO
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
Windows 8 bad too many pop ups!
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
DisappointedMay 21, 2013
by Willie from Kent, Wa
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Having an i 7 processor and all the bells and whistles you would think I could bring up a national geographic jigsaw puzzle and play it. The web site comes up then it is just frozen. I could at least do this on my old computer. Not everyone likes techie games. Also do not like windows 8. Windows 7 and Vista were much better
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
I HATE WINDOWS 8August 15, 2013
by firstron from Tacoma, WA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 2 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I have used every version of Windows except "Bob". Windows 8 is the most exesperating, frustrating and maddening OS EVER on a non-touch-screen machine. I am currently in the process of reverting the machine to Windows 7. I expect great things from this computer when I'm done. DON'T BUY THIS COMPUTER WITH WINDOWS 8 UNLESS YOU ARE INTO PAIN!!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
"No bootable device?"May 22, 2013
by Pete from Claremont, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
Every other time I turn on the laptop I receive a "Checking Media..media failed" message, and then a "No bootable device, please reboot" message displays. I have to turn off the laptop and then turn it on again.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Failed to Install Microsoft UpdatesMay 26, 2013
by Frustrated from Austin, TX
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
This machine simply would not finish installing Microsoft updates. Consequently other software would not/could not install properly. I had to do a complete system reset - twice - and then reinstall all software. I am in the process of the second system reset currently. I do not know if it will be successful.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
In relation toApril 19, 2013
by Monkey from Lincoln City, OR
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
In comparison your laptop with WINDOWS 8 is like taking a car driver and selling him an airplane and say have fun. I do not know why a person cannot buy a new laptop and get the programs he is familiar with. Most people want a new computer because the old computer is so loaded down with junk you cannot get rid of the only way is to buy a new computer but the new computer get loaded down fast because you have no idea how it works.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Toshiba FrustrationMay 25, 2013
by Cali from Sonoma County, CA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I've had my Toshiba for a month and have been extremely frustrated trying to work with it. I am now learning some stuff but after having and working with computers for 15 years, I did not expect to have trouble using this PC. I am hoping that I can continue to learn how to maneuver through it so it is easier to use At this time, I cannot recommend it...I am sorry I didn't stay with Dell.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Don't botherJune 18, 2013
by karerunh from Richland, WA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 3 out of 5
Battery Life: 3 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Windows 8, without a touch screen, is ridiculous.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Poor OSJune 2, 2013
by sailor from Essex Junction, VT
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I do not understand why Windows8 is provided on a nontouchscreen PC. There are work-arounds, but they should not be necessary. Microsoft should not be forcing users to use a system they do not want.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Too bad it uses Windows 8April 25, 2013
by Mark from Burbank, Wa
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 5 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
I bought it, took it home and discovered how much I disliked Windows 8. I'm taking it back tomorow.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Good laptop bad operating systemMay 25, 2013
by Mark from Burbank, WA
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 1 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
I tried Windows 8. I asked if I could downgrade to Windows 7. When I was told no, I toll it back and bought a Dell.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Put Together with Parts that Don't FitMay 24, 2013
by Mush from Utah
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 4 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
This particular Toshiba (Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop) was a cheap product! The plastic surrounding the screen did not fit securely. It felt like it could easily become separated from the screen and the lid. It felt like the plastic was made for another model that was a slightly different size and used for this product anyway. I returned the laptop to the store.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop
Averages based on 62 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 3.8 out of 5
Features: 3.8 out of 5
Performance: 4.1 out of 5
Battery Life: 4.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4.1 out of 5
47 of 62 (75%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop - Write a Review Close  Close