Please wait...action in progress.

holiday return policy:

Purchases made through Toshiba Direct from November 28, 2014 through December 24, 2014 are eligible for return or exchange through January 15, 2015. Products, including laptops, netbooks, tablets, desktops, TV lamps, and accessories (batteries, remotes, Power adapters, etc), except those products specifically named as 'final sale' on the www.toshiba.com/us website, are eligible for refund or replacement. TAIS will not issue an RMA for a visual product to be returned for credit. All products eligible for return require a Return Material Authorization (RMA) number, which may be requested by calling 1-800-618-4444. To be considered for the holiday return period, an RMA request must be made no later than January 15, 2015 and all products qualified for return must be returned to TAIS within ten (10) days of customer receipt of the RMA number. The maximum TAIS will refund for items purchased through TAIS is the original purchase price of the product, less restocking fee, plus any related taxes. Original shipping and handling charges or similar fees and return shipping charges are not refundable. Returns made without an RMA number will be refused or returned to the Customer. All products with valid RMA authorization must be returned in original packaging and be in the same condition as Customer received them. Customer is responsible for shipping charges and risk of loss on all return shipments. Customer must use a reputable shipping carrier capable of providing proof of delivery, as well as properly packing and fully insuring the return shipment. Upon receipt of the returned product(s), TAIS will inspect the product to determine if the product has been opened, used, and whether it contains all parts included with the original shipment, and to confirm there was no modification, abuse or misuse of the product, or user negligence. TAIS may reject the return or deduct costs associated with: open packaging, missing parts, non original packaging, modification, abuse, misuse of the product or user negligence. While TAIS may issue an RMA for individual software packages represented by Customer as unopened, upon receipt and inspection any open packages will not be accepted for return/credit and will be returned to Customer.
Sorry, Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player is not available for sale through Toshibadirect.com. But...
We can give you details about the Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player:
Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Images
IMAGES
 »

Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player

Part Number: SD-V296
Average Customer Rating: 
Read 16 reviews

Questions? Call us at 800-316-0920
Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Rated 1.6667/5 based on 16 customer reviews
Product description: Explore Toshiba's innovative laptops, accessories, projectors and electronics. Find the best fit for your home or business.
 

Sorted by:  Rating (high to low) »  Rating (low to high) »  Most Recent »  Most Helpful » 

Overall Rating: 5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Great VCR/DVD playerDecember 1, 2011
by quikjr from Lubbock, TX
Features: 5  out of 5 5 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
Bought this unit .. took it home .. installed the three cables to red-white-yellow on the new 46" TV I bought (Panasonic). Turned it on. Put both a VCR and a video Disc to see if it worked. Both videos played perfectly. What more could you want??
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 4 out of 5 4 out of 5
Great Value, Hard To Find ComboMay 4, 2012
by nat from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 4  out of 5 4 out of 5
Performance: 4 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 5 out of 5
This machine is just as described, a player for both DVDs and VHS tapes. We plugged it in and it worked, period.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 3 out of 5 3 out of 5
SimpleDecember 7, 2011
by Recreation Therapist from CA
Features: 2  out of 5 2 out of 5
Performance: 5 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
We have been using this product for a couple of years now and it is still in good working order. I would recommend this machine if you have a need to use both DVD and VHS.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Toshiba DVD Video Player/Video Cassette RecorderDecember 1, 2011
by Presawar from Dallas, Texas
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 4 out of 5
The salesman told me I could convert VHS tapes to DVD discs. This machine won't do that. I bought the machine out of town. I guess I'm stuck.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
SD-V296KU - Can't Get VCR to RecordSeptember 5, 2013
by Crusoe1 from Charlotte, NC
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I switch to this device to make VCR show recordings for my Mother, who has no cable TV. My very old unit was shot after 20 years and 100's of tapes. This unit appears to record for me, but when I playback, there is no audio or picture. I have a new flat screen and I have followed directions. Don't want to call this a lousy purchase, if it is User error. Anyone have any suggestions for me? Seems like I have spent a lot of time trying all of my TV connection options, of course following the Toshiba manual. Like I said, this unit seems to work, but if I can't get the picture to show or sound...trash city and move on. thanks
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Machine needs help!January 24, 2013
by Bill from Allentown, PA
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 2 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
VCR side works great to play back tapes. DVD side always gives trouble when trying to play DVDs. Picture stops and starts and distorts when playing a DVD. Acts like the disc needs cleaning but the disc is brand new right out of a sealed package! Tried a lens cleaning disk, but it didn't help. Trying to figure my options from here.
What is your level of technical expertise?  
How long have you been using this product?   One month to a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Worst DVD Player for connectionsSeptember 2, 2011
by B from Jones Valley Elementary
Features: 0  out of 5 0 out of 5
Performance: 0 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 0 out of 5
It will not Display the menu so you can set it up. The Setup button does nothing.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
SDV39KDecember 30, 2011
by Billybob
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
DVD locks closed and can't open it. Turning it off and on didn't work.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst dvd video player/video cassette recorderMarch 6, 2013
by meme from petersburg,va
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
got for christmas to this day unable to hook up to direct tv box also have a toshiba flat screen tv which is fine.have not been able to use
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
piece of junkApril 24, 2013
by beeker from terrebonne or
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
only played dvds and vhs in color for the first few days. now only black and white with flutter and distortion on screen. owners manual doesn't explain fix.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   One week to a month

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
September 7, 2012
by Joy from Ontario, Canada
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I havea new SDV296KC Combo and could not get it to work with the new 40" LED Toshiba. Had to use a relative"s older model #SDV398KC. Not happy since the store would not take my newly purchased one back. The connections on my two machines are not compatible. HELP!!
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
vcr dvdSeptember 13, 2012
by pinkey943 from egg harbor township nj
Features: 3  out of 5 3 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
my dvd will play but vcr wont record off tv
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
worst VCR everOctober 4, 2012
by mick from media, pa
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2 out of 5
I mioved and i can;t find any instructions as to how to tape a program. You never supplied a manual and i can't get one on line without downloading about 50 pages.On other products i can see the manual and print just the pages i need
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   More than a year

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
DVD does not workNovember 28, 2012
by MDW from MD
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Bought for father in law with Alzheimer's. VHS works great, DVD player will not play ANY DVD's. So dissapointed and frustrated.
What is your level of technical expertise?   ProficientUser
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Frustrating!December 16, 2012
by Mo from Canada
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 1 out of 5
Can't get DVD or cassette to play in color.
What is your level of technical expertise?   Newbie
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week

Overall Rating: 1 out of 5 1 out of 5
does not work with digital boxJanuary 1, 2013
by Likes my VCR from Abbotsford, BC
Features: 1  out of 5 1 out of 5
Performance: 1 out of 5
Battery Life: 0 out of 5
Price–Value: 3 out of 5
I could not find the spot to plug the cable in. What is listed as a coaxial port does not look like one. We have to use a digital box and cannot see how this will be compatible. Back to our old VCR machine which has the coaxial in and out ports. Alas, the DVDs I received for Christmas will remain unopened.
What is your level of technical expertise?   TechSavvy
How long have you been using this product?   Less than a week
Customer Rating Summary
Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Averages based on 18 customer reviews
Overall Rating: 1.7 out of 5
Features: 2.1 out of 5
Performance: 1.8 out of 5
Battery Life: 0.0 out of 5
Price–Value: 2.6 out of 5
3 of 18 (16%) customers would recommend this product to a friend.

Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player - Write a Review Close  Close